Scott Peters Makes The Lombardi Award Watch List

May 8, 2001

HOUSTON, Texas -- The Executive Committee of the 2001 Rotary Lombardi Award has released its Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List comprised of 52 preliminary candidates for the 32nd Rotary Lombardi Award. This year's award winner will be announced on December 5th in Houston.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List is comprised of returning Division I college football players who meet the basic position requirements for the Award and who have earned either All American or first-team All Conference recognition in a previous season. All-Conference designations were limited to those voted upon by the coaches of each conference. Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen and those defenders who line up within five yards of the football.

Among the players included on the list are a pair of linemen (defensive end Alex Brown of Florida and defensive tackle Wendell Bryant of Wisconsin) who were semifinalists for the 2000 Rotary Lombardi Award. Defending National Champions Oklahoma is represented by linebacker Rocky Calmus while 2000 Outland Trophy winner John Henderson is also on the list. A total of 44 schools are represented, with the University of Miami leading the way with three players (offensive linemen Joaquin Gonzalez and Bryant McKinnie and tight end Jeremy Schokey).

This initial grouping acknowledges those players who are returning for the 2001 football season with underclass recognition as an All American or All Conference player. However, any Division I player who meets the position requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee, which is comprised of nearly 300 members, including all Division I head coaches, former winners, sportswriters and broadcasters. The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for the 2001 honor.

'We are pleased to issue this Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List and recognize this fine collection of college linemen that have already been honored by being named to an All American team or All Conference team as underclassmen,' stated Marc K. Rieke, Chairman of the Executive Committee. 'We also recognize that there are some quality candidates, omitted from this list, who intend to make their presence known at the beginning of the 2001 football season. Our ultimate goal is to identify and honor the outstanding college lineman that best exemplifies the traditions of discipline and excellence for which Vince Lombardi was renowned.'

Now in its 32nd year of honoring the top lineman in Division I football, the Rotary Lombardi Award Dinner has raised over $2.5 million for The American Cancer Society since it was first held in 1970. Table sales for the 2001 Lombardi Award Dinner are currently underway. For more information about participating in, or supporting the 2001 Dinner as a sponsor, please call the Rotary Office (713) 973-9936 or visit

2001 ROTARY LOMBARDI WATCH LIST                                 (prelimimary list as of 5/7/01)           Last Name        First Name       POS     School           Afariogun        Mobolaji         TE      Western Michigan           Allsbury         Anthony          LB      Western Michigan           Arnold           Andre            DE      Memphis           Beck             Wil              DL      Idaho           Briggs           Lance            LB      Arizona           Brown            Alex             DE      Florida           Bryant           Wendell          DT      Wisconsin           Busta            Jesse            LB      Utah State           Calmus           Rocky            LB      Oklahoma           Edwards          Kalimba          LB      South Carolina           Ena              Justin           LB      BYU           Fe'esago         Chris            OL      San Jose State           Fisher           Levar            LB      North Carolina St.           Foote            Larry            LB      Michigan           Freeney          Dwight           DT      Syracuse           Gathers          Greg             DL      Georgia Tech           Ghent            Ronnie           TE      Louisville           Gibson           Chris            OL      Oregon State           Gonzalez Joaquin          OL      Miami           Griffin          Pernell          LB      East Carolina           Gurode           Andre            OL      Colorado           Haggan           Mario            LB      Mississippi State           Harper           Alan             DL      Fresno State           Henderson        John             DT      Tennessee           Johnson          Brian            DE      New Mexico           Johnson          Garry            T       Arkansas State           Kassell          Brad             LB      North Texas           Kaufusi          Doug             OL      Utah           Knight       Bryan            DT      Pittsburgh           McKinney         Seth             OL      Texas A&M           McKinnie        Bryant           OL      Miami           Metcalf          Terrence         OL      Mississippi           Ochoa            Jose             TE      Colorado State           Palepoi          Anton            DE      UNLV           Pearson          Mike             OL      Florida           Peppers          Julius           DE      North Carolina           Peters           Scott            OL      Arizona State           Pugh       David            DT      Virginia Tech           Putnam           Nate             DE      Utah State           Schokey          Jeremy           TE      Miami           Simmons          Kendall          OL      Auburn           Smith         Clifton          LB      Syracuse           Smith            Derek            TE      Kentucky           Stevens          Jerramy          TE      Washington           Stratton         Tim              TE      Purdue           Sykes            Jashon           LB      Colorado           Taylor     Ben              LB      Virginia Tech           Thornhill        Josh             LB      Michigan State           Tripplett        Larry            DT      Washington           Williams         Larry            LB      Northern Illinois           Wistrom          Tracey           TE      Nebraska           Yates            Max              LB      Marshall           Young            Kyle             C       Clemson
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder