2001 Pac-10 Rowing Championships Preview (5/9/01)

May 9, 2001

Pac-10 Championships Schedule in PDF
Pacific Coast Rowing Champ. Schedule in PDF
Complete Release in PDF
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The 2001 Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Rowing Championships (42nd annual for men, 15th annual for women) will be held on Sunday, May 13, at Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova, Calif. The Pacific Coast Rowing Championships and the Pacific Coast Visitors Cup will take place on Saturday, May 12. Admission is $6 per person per day.

THE SCHEDULE. . . Races begin at 8 a.m. on Sunday with the first heat of the Women's Varsity Four competition. The championships will conclude at approximately 3 p.m. with the Men's Varsity Eight Grand Final. An awards ceremony will immediately follow the completion of the races. For a complete listing of all the races and times, please see the Pac-10 website, www.pac-10.org.

THE COMPETITORS. . . Eight Pacific-10 institutions will compete: CALIFORNIA, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD, UCLA, USC, WASHINGTON and WASHINGTON STATE. The Trojans will be competing on the women's side only. Other western institutions competing include Chapman, Colorado, Humboldt State, Loyola Marymount, Sacramento State, Saint Mary's, San Diego State, Santa Clara, UC Davis , UC San Diego, UC Santa Barbara, Univeristy of San Diego and Western Washington.

SCORING. . . The Pacific-10 Men's and Women's Rowing Champions are determined by the order of finish of the Pac-10 crews in the following eight events: Men's Varsity Eight, Men's Junior Varsity Eight, Men's Freshman Novice Eight, Men's Varsity Four, Women's Varsity Eight, Women's Junior Varsity Eight, Women's Novice Eight and Women's Varsity Four. The scoring system is as follows:

ROWING TRADITION. . . The women of Washington are looking to capture their 10th straight Championship while the California men are seeking their fourth consecutive Pac-10 Championship. UCLA is the the only other school to ever win the women's title (1990, 1991) while California and Washington have had a stronghold on the men's trophy since 1990.

SEEDINGS. . . California and Washington each have the top seed in three of the eight events. Complete seedings can be found on the Pac-10 website - www.pac.org. Below are the seedings for the Men's and Women's Varsity Eight competitions.

NATIONAL RANKINGS. . . The latest Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association/US Rowing National Collegiate Coaches Poll (May 9) has four women's teams in the top 20 including No. 4 WASHINGTON, No. 5 USC, No. 11 CALIFORNIA and No. 20 WASHINGTON STATE. On the men's side, three teams are ranked in the top 20 including No. 1 CALIFORNIA, No. 7 WASHINGTON and No. 12 OREGON STATE.

CONFERENCE HONORS. . . Pacific-10 rowing accolades (All-Conference and Coach of the Year honors) will be awarded approximately one week after the completion of the national championships.

CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS. . . Results will be available on the Pac-10 website at www.pac-10.org. Media members and coaches may contact T.J. Burd at the Pac-10 office for more information.

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE CHAMPIONSHIPS. . . The Women's National Collegiate Championships will be held on Lake Lanier in Gainesville, Ga. The events will take place Friday-Sunday, May 25-27. Washington is the last team from the Pac-10 to win the national title (1997 & 1998). Last year, Washington finished runner-up to Brown. The men's Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Championships will take place on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J. Those events will take place a week later on Thursday-Saturday, May 31-June 2. California has won two consecutive IRA National Titles, while Washington won it all in 1997 and placed fourth last season (only other Pac-10 team that placed).

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network