Sun Devils Wrap Up Pac-10 Multi-Event Championships

May 13, 2001

BERKELEY, Calif. -- Arizona State track and field athletes Elizabeth Arollo and Kyle Frerichs were unable to gain any ground in the final day of the Pac-10 Multi-Event Championships, finishing ninth in the heptathlon and 10th in the decathlon, respectively, at Cal's Edwards Stadium Sunday afternoon.

Despite recording a personal-best in the final event of the day, the 1500m (4:40.72), Frerichs finished the two-day decathlon competition with 6,506 points. Arollo turned in the third-best javelin mark of the day, a throw of 118 feet, seven inches, but finished with a final point total of 4,327 in the heptathlon.

Washington State's Ellannee Richardson overcame a 12-point lead by teammate Whitney Evans, winning the final event of the day (800m) to capture the Pac-10 heptathlon crown. Santiago Lorenzo from Oregon won the decathlon after finishing runner-up the past two seasons.

The weekend did see some bright spots for ASU, as Frerichs posted two personal-bests and Arollo recorded one in the first day of competition Saturday. Both Sun Devils posted personal-bests in the high jump, as Arollo shattered her previous PR of five feet, one inch, clearing the bar Saturday at a height of 5-4.25 inches. Frerichs set a new PR by clearing 5-11.5, improving his previous best effort of 5-10. He also opened the competition with a PR in the 100m, clocking a time of 11.81.

The rest of the ASU track and field squad will head to Berkeley this weekend for the remainder of the Pac-10 Championships May 19-20. Entering the second weekend of competition, Washington State leads the women's team race with 18 points, while Oregon leads the men with 16 points.

Pac-10 Multi-Event Championships
Sat., May 12-Sun., May 13, Edwards Stadium, Berkeley, Calif.

Heptathlon Results (Final)
1. Ellannee Richardson, WSU 5,578 pts.
2. Whitney Evans, WSU 5,546 pts.
3. Julie Tinker, STAN 5,432 pts.
4. Shawna Adkins, CAL 5,050 pts.
5. Jenny Kenyon, ORE 4,911 pts.
6. Ann Sullivan, ORE 4,874 pts.
7. Spring Harris, USC 4,855 pts.
8. Lillian Bush, STAN 4,811 pts.
9. Elizabeth Arollo, ASU 4,327 pts.

Decathlon Results (Final)
1. Santiago Lorenzo, ORE 7,617 pts.
2. Jason Goff, STAN 7,428 pts.
3. Billy Pappas, ORE 7,342 pts.
4. Steve Dwyer, WSU 7,169 pts.
5. Russell Silvers, USC 7,118 pts.
6. Matt Blair, CAL 7,099 pts.
7. Casey Thompson, USC 6,876 pts.
8. Ryan Hendren, USC 6,696 pts.
9. Jason Slye, ORE 6,631 pts.
10. Kyle Frerichs, ASU 6,506 pts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder