Division I Women's Golf Championship Finalists

May 14, 2001

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA has released the teams and individuals that have advanced to the NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted May 22-25, at Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort, Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla. Stetson University and the Central Florida Sports Commission are cohosts of the championships.

Three regional competitions were held May 10-12. Of the 321 regional participants, 126 advanced to the finals. Eight teams and two individuals, not on a selected team, advanced from each regional. All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day's total score.

The University of Arizona claimed last year's championship title.


East Region:         Individuals1. Duke                 1. Marta Prieto, Wake Forest2. Auburn               2. Meridith Ward, Vanderbilt3. Georgia4. South Florida5. New Mexico6. South Carolina7. San Jose State8. Pepperdine

Central Region: Individuals1. Tulsa 1. Sarah Sasse, Nebraska2. Purdue 2. Allie Blomquist, Wisconsin3. Texas4. New Mexico State5. Oklahoma State6. LSU7. Kent State8. California

West Region: Individuals1. Arizona 1. Young-A Yang, Tennessee2. Stanford 2. Maghan Francella, Memphis3. Michigan State4. UCLA5. Ohio State6. Arizona State7. Washington8. Southern California

courtesy of the NCAA

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder