Huskies Garner Top Honors From Pac-10

May 14, 2001

SEATTLE - Six members of the 2001 Washington softball team receivedrecognition from the Pacific-10 Conference, including two first-teamall-conference honorees, Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Mondayafternoon.

Washington freshman pitcher Tia Bollinger (Santa Ana, Calif.) was namedPac-10 Newcomer of the Year in addition to being selected to the firstteam.

Bollinger has posted a remarkable season in the circle for the Huskies,who have now won two-consecutive Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year awards.Bollinger is just one win away from tying last seasons conference pitcherof the year, Jennifer Spediacci (1997-00), for the UW single-season markin wins. Furthermore, she now owns the Husky single-season record forinnings pitched with 261.0, which also ranks first in the conference.Bollinger has posted a 33-6 record and 0.99 ERA (eighth in the Pac-10) asthe Huskies finished tied for third in the Pac-10 in 2001.

Joining Bollinger on the first team is sophomore All-American Jaime Clark(Tustin, Calif.) , who is making her second appearance on the first teamafter earning the same honor a year ago. Clark has been of the teamsleaders throughout the season, boasting a .368 batting average. She alsoleads the team in several offensive categories including RBI, home runs,doubles and slugging percentage. The 5-11 shortstop was recently namedthe Louisville Slugger/NFCA Division Player of the Week on May 2, becomingthe first Husky player to earn the award twice in her career.

Senior Kelly Hauxhurst (Westminster, Calif.) moved up tothe Pac-10 second team after being an honorable mention selection a yearago. Hauxhurst has led the Huskies in batting average (.384) for themajority of the season, while tallying a pair of double-digit hit streaks.

Garnering her fourth Pac-10 acclaim was UW senior thirdbaseman Kim DePaul. DePaul, from Tomball, Texas, received her secondhonorable mention award, after being named to the second team twice in1998 and 2000. Senior Christie Rosenblad (Fillmore, Calif.) and freshmanAmanda Oleson (Agoura Hills, Calif.) also earned Pac-10 honorable mentionhonors.

The Huskies finished out its regular season schedule with a 37-21 overallrecord and 11-10 mark in conference play. Washington, which has advancedto five consecutive College World Series, will begin its journey throughthe 2001 NCAA tournament in Norman, Okla., May 17-20. The Huskies earned aNo. 2 seed and will play fifth-seeded Seton Hall Thursday at 2:30 p.m., atthe University of Oklahoma Softball Complex.

2001 Pac-10 All-Conference
Pac-10 Player of the Year
Stacey Nuveman, UCLA Catcher

Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year
Jennie Finch, Arizona

Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year
Tia Bollinger, Washington Pitcher

Pac-10 Co-Coaches of the Year
Mike Candrea, Ariz., John Rittman, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder