Arizona State Dominates NCAA West Regional Golf Championships at Trysting Tree

May 18, 2001

Corvallis, Ore. - The No. 6 and favored Arizona State Sun Devils have all but clinched the NCAA West Men's Regional Golf Championship after firing an 11-under-par 277 total Friday to take a 17 shot lead into Saturday's final round. The Sun Devils are at -16, 560, the only team under par. The surprising and unranked UC Irvine Anteaters are second at 577, followed by No. 8 Arizona at 578.

Matt Jones led ASU with a brilliant 7-under-65 over the blustery Trysting Tree Golf Club. Jones is at 9-under for the tournament, two strokes better than teammate Jin Park. A total of nine golfers were able to break par in the second round, compared to 23 Thursday.

The top 10 teams will advance to the NCAA Championships May 31-June 2 in Durham, N.C., making the final round a tight race. A total of nine shots separate sixth place Wake Forest and 17th place Fresno State.

Oregon State is tied for seventh with Washington and Pacific at 15-over 591. The Beavers were as high as second place after 27 holes, but shot 16 over on the final nine holes.

'The back nine really hurt, I saw shots I haven't seen before from our team,' Beaver head coach Mike Ketcham said. 'I think nerves had a part in our performance on the back nine, we were more worried about our position in the standings than the golf course. The good news is we are still in the hunt for a berth to the NCAA Championships.'

Anthony Arvidson leads the Beaver contingent tied for 16th at 1-over 145. Michael Jurgensen is tied for 25th at 147, David Yarnes is tied for 42nd at 149, David Williams is tied for 60th at 150, and Daren Grieg is tied for 73rd at 151. Oregon State is attempting to qualify for the national championships for only the third time in the program's history, and the first since 1994.

The final round begins at 7:30 a.m. Saturday with the leaders teeing off first. The final round of NCAA Championships competition always begins with the lowest total teams in the event inclement weather forces suspension of the final round later in the day. Oregon State tees off at 8:15 a.m. from the first hole

Team Scores

Arizona State, 283-277--560, UC Irvine, 290-287--577, Arizona, 289-289--578, UCLA, 289-298--587, Stanford, 284-303--587, Wake Forest, 288-302--590, Oregon State, 290-301--591, Pacific, 293-293--591, Washington, 290-301--591, Pepperdine, 293-299--592, South Carolina, 294-298--592, UNLV, 294-300--594, San Diego State, 289-305--594, Oregon, 302-294--596, Colorado State, 297-300--597, USC, 298-300--598, Fresno State, 298-301--599, BYU, 296-307--603, California, 302-302--604, New Mexico, 305-299--604, Austin Peay, 295-310--605, Nevada, 302-307--609, Tennessee, 297-316--613, Detroit Mercy, 295-326--621, Navy, 310-311--621, Oral Roberts, 312-309--621, Weber State, 302-324--626

Top Individuals (Par 72)

Matt Jones, ASU, 70-65--135, Jin Park, ASU, 69-68--137, Kyle Thompson, S. Car., 71-67--138, Chris Nallen, UA, 70-69--139, Tom O'Stasik, Pac., 71-69--140, Philip Rowe, Stan., 69-72--141, Eric Wang, UCI, 71-70--141, Ryan Strickland, APS, 71-71--142, Charleton Dechert, ORU, 72-71--143, Nick Watney, FSU, 71-72--143, Mike Lavery, UCI, 74-69--143, John Merrick, UCLA, 67-76--143, Brian Nosler, ASU, 71-72--143

OSU Scores

T16 Anthony Arvidson, 72-73--145, T25 Michael Jurgensen, 71-76--147, T42 David Yarnes, 74-75--149, T60 David Williams, 73-77-150, T73 Daren Grieg, 74-77--151

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder