2001 Pac-10 Baseball Awards and All-Conference Team

May 21, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE senior catcher Casey Myers was named the 2001 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year for the second consecutive time, while USC junior right-hander Mark Prior earned Pitcher of the Year honors in a vote by the conference baseball coaches. STANFORD's Carlos Quentin was named Freshman of the Year. CALIFORNIA skipper David Esquer earned Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to their first postseason appearance since 1995, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Myers, a senior from Casa Grande, Ariz., led the Sun Devils in several offensive categories, including runs (49), hits (83), RBI (66) and on base percentage (.472) He also ranked among Conference leaders in batting average (.386, 6th), on base percentage (3rd), runs scored (t8th), hits (t5th), RBI (2nd) and walks (4th). Myers, who earned National Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2000, calls his own pitches. He became just the third player in Sun Devil in history to reach 300 hits.

Prior, a junior from Bonita, Calif., led the Trojans with a 13-1 record and 1.49 ERA, best in the Pac-10 and second-best in the nation. His 13 wins lead the league, and he also paces the Pac-10 in strikeouts (166) and opposing batting average (.182). Prior has a remarkable strikeout-to-walk ratio at 166-to-17. He has recorded 10 or more strikeouts in a game 11 times this season. He has notched 15 strikeouts in a game once and 14 three times. Prior was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week five times this year and was a National Pitcher of the Week selection twice.

Quentin, a freshman from Chula Vista, Calif., put up impressive statistics for the Cardinal. He leads the club in home runs (11) and hit-by-pitches (12) and ranks second in RBI (45), total bases (115), slugging percentage (.578) and runs scored (49). He is third on the squad with a .352 batting average. He is the only Stanford player to hit two home runs in a game this season. Quentin is second on the Stanford squad with 21 multi-hit games.

Bears skipper Esquer earned his first Coach of the Year award after leading the squad to its first postseason appearance since 1995. In his second season as Cal's head coach he has compiled a 58-51 overall record, 25-23 in the Pac-10. This season the Bears went 33-23 and 14-10 in the regular season. Cal is ranked No. 26 in the Collegiate Baseball national poll.

Complete list of Conference honors:




Mark Prior, USC


David Esquer, CALIFORNIA


Name School Pos Yr Ht Wt HometownRod Allen ASU DH/OF Fr. 6-1 199 Phoenix, Ariz.Stefan Bailie WSU 1B So. 6-0 217 Mesa, Wash.Brian Barden OSU 3B So. 5-11 190 Bonita, Calif.Brian Baron UCLA DH Sr. 6-0 195 Newhall, Calif.Brian Barre USC CF Jr. 5-8 180 Garden Grove, Calif.Chris Biles OSU LF So. 6-0 180 Tigard, Ore.Josh Canales UCLA 2B Sr. 5-11 170 Carson, Calif.Brooks Conrad (2) ASU 2B Jr. 5-11 185 Spring Valley, Calif.Rik Currier (2) USC RHP Sr. 5-10 195 Dana Point, Calif.Seth Davidson (2) USC SS So. 6-0 180 San Diego, Calif.Shelley Duncan ARIZ RF Jr. 6-5 220 Tucson, Ariz.Ernie Durazo ARIZ 1B Sr. 5-9 201 Tucson, Ariz.Chris Duffy ASU CF Jr. 5-10 177 Glendale, Ariz.Ben Francisco UCLA RF So. 6-0 180 Anaheim, Calif.Sam Fuld STAN CF Fr. 5-10 180 Durham, NHBryan Ingram OSU C Jr. 6-1 200 Everett, Wash.Scott Nicholson OSU LHP Sr. 6-0 165 Longview, Wash.Chris O'Riordan STAN 2B Jr. 5-9 175 San Diego, Calif.Carlos Quentin STAN RF Fr. 6-2 210 Chula Vista, Calif.Carson White CAL 2B Jr. 5-8 175 Fresno, Calif.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention: Matt Abram, So., ARIZ, Brian Anderson, Fr., ARIZ, John Baker, So., CAL, Matt Brown, Fr., CAL, Jeff Bruksch, Jr., STAN, Josh Carter, Jr., OSU, David Cash, Sr., CAL, Ben Conley, So., CAL, Alberto Concepcion, So., USC, Tyler Davidson, So., WASH, Curtis Davis, Sr., OSU, Michael Done, Jr., WASH, Scott Dragicevich, Jr., STAN, Mike Esposito, Fr., ASU, Drew Friedberg, Sr., ASU, Ryan Garko, So., STAN, Bookie Gates, Jr., WSU, Mike Gosling, Jr., STAN, Jeremy Guthrie, So., STAN, Evan Hecker, Jr., WSU, Trevor Hutchinson, Jr., CAL, Thad Johnson, Sr., OSU, Marc Kaiser, Fr., ARIZ, Josh Karp, Jr., UCLA, Aaron Klusman, Fr., ASU, Michael Knight, Sr., WSU, Shawn Kohn, Jr., WASH, Joe Little, Fr., ARIZ, Mike Lopez, Sr., ASU, Anthony Lunetta, So., USC, Rob Meyer, Sr., CAL, Mike Moon, Fr., USC, Matt Pearl, Sr., UCLA, Bill Peavey, Jr., USC, Josh Persell, Sr., USC, Eric Reece, Sr., UCLA, Sean Rierson, Fr., ARIZ, Marc Rittenhouse, Sr., WASH, Jon Switzer, Jr., ASU, Andy Torres, Jr., ASU, Erik Torres, Sr., ARIZ, Dennis Wyrick, So., ASU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder