Four Huskies Earn Pac-10 Honorable Mention

May 21, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four University of Washington baseball players All-Pacific-10 Conference honorablemention, though no Husky made the first team, which was announced today by Pac-10Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Senior Marc Rittenhouse, junior Michael Done, junior Shawn Kohn and sophomoreTyler Davidson were the four Huskies to earn mention. Arizona State catcher Casey Myerswas named the Pac-10 Player of the Year while USC right-hander Mark Prior earnedPitcher of the Year.

Stanford outfielder Carlos Quentin took the Freshman of the Year award while California'sDavid Esquer was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to a third-place finishand a spot in the NCAA tournament.

Rittenhouse, a second baseman from Bellevue, Wash., batted .375 in his final season asthe Huskies' leadoff man. Rittenhouse missed more than half of his senior year afterundergoing thumb surgery early in the year, but still finished his career fifth in UW historyin both career runs and career walks. His 19 career homers rank him ninth all-time.

Done, a third baseman from Littleton, Colo., led the Husky regulars with his .342 battingaverage and with seven home runs. He also had 15 doubles and 36 runs batted in.Davidson, an outfielder from Edmonds, Wash., batted .337 with six homers and 42 RBI.

Kohn, a right-handed pitcher from Woodinville, Wash., emerged as the Husky ace in mid-season. He finished the year 6-2 with a 2.57 earned run average, the lowest by a Huskystarter since 1993. Four weeks ago, he led the NCAA in earned run average with a 0.78mark at the time. He worked 80.2 innings, allowing only 60 hits and 15 walks whilestriking out 65.

Here is the complete 2001 All-Pacific-10 Conference baseball team:

Name                School         Pos.Rod Allen           Arizona St.    OFStefan Bailie       Washington St. 1BBrian Barden        Oregon St.     3BBrian Baron         UCLA           DHBrian Barre         USC            OFChris Biles         Oregon St.     OFJosh Canales        UCLA           2BBrooks Conrad       Arizona St.    2BRik Currier         USC            RHPSeth Davidson       USC            SSShelley Duncan      Arizona        OFErnie Durazo        Arizona        1BChris Duffy         Arizona St.    OFBen Francisco       UCLA           OFSam Fuld            Stanford       OFBryan Ingram        Oregon St.     CScott Nicholson     Oregon St.     LHPChris O'Riordan     Stanford       2BCarlos Quentin      Stanford       OFCarson White        California     2B

Player of the Year: Casey Myers, Sr., C, Arizona StatePitcher of the Year: Mark Prior, Jr., RHP, USCFreshman of the Year: Carlos Quentin, OF, StanfordCoach of the Year: David Esquer, California

Honorable Mention (UW Players Only): Tyler Davidson(Soph. OF), Michael Done (Junior 3B), Marc Rittenhouse(Senior 2B), Shawn Kohn (Junior RHP).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder