Men's Golf Head To NCAA Championships

May 28, 2001

The Stanford men's golf team travels to Durham, North Carolina, for the 2001 NCAA Men's Golf Championships, hosted by Duke University. Thirty team as well as six individuals will vye for top national honors. The Cardinal enter the event as the 21st seed.


* Duke University and the Duke Golf Club will host the 104th annual NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships on May 30 - June 2

* The Championships is a four-day, 72-hole event

* Thirty teams advance from three regional tournaments (East, Central & West) plus six individuals (Two from each regional) not on those teams

* 156 total participants,

* After two rounds, the field will be cut to the top 15 teams (no ties) and nine top individuals not on those teams

* The individual championship is determined by stroke play

* The team scoring is figured by using the low four scores out of the five players on each team per round

* Practice rounds are scheduled for Monday and Tuesday, May 28-29, On Monday, there will be an East-West match, with one player from each team participating while the other players play their practice round


Call the Duke Ticket Office at 919-681-BLUETicket prices are $5 for Wednesday & Thursday, $8 for Friday & Saturday,and $20 for a four-day pass


Opened on September 26, 1957Ed Ibarguen, General Manager & PGA Master ProfessionalRod Myers, Duke Men's Golf CoachOriginal layout by Robert Trent JonesRe-designed by Rees Jones in 1993Par 72, 7,111-yardsServed as host of the NCAA Men's Golf Championships in 1962, withRees Jones participating in the event as a member of the Yale University team

2001 NCAA REGIONAL SITES (All played May 17-19)

East Regional * Golden Horseshoe Golf Club, Williamsburg, Va., Virginia Commonwealth, hostCentral Regional * Karsten Creek, Stillwater, Okla., Oklahoma State, host)West Regional * Trysting Tree Golf Course, Corvallis, Ore., Oregon State, host


1. Georgia, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. Clemson, 4. Arizona State, 5. Texas, 6. Southern California, 7. N.C. State, 8. Texas Christian, 9. Florida, 10. Wake Forest, 11. Augusta State, 12. Arizona, 13. Oklahoma State, 14. BYU, 15. New Mexico, 16. Oklahoma, 17. South Carolina, 18. E. Tennessee State, 19. Houston, 20. Oregon, 21. Duke, 22. Auburn, 23. Virginia Tech, 24. Washington, 25. Alabama-Birmingham


1. Georgia (69.42), 2. Georgia Tech (70.09), 3. Clemson (70.30), 4. Texas (71.06), 5. Florida (71.16), 6. Arizona State (71.22), 7. Wake Forest (71.35), 8. Arizona (71.39), 9. Oklahoma State (71.42), 10. South Carolina (71.47), 11. Southern California (71.50), 12. N.C. State (71.52), 13. Texas Christian (71.55), 14. Augusta State (71.56), 15. E. Tennessee State (71.57), 16. New Mexico (71.62), 17. Oklahoma (71.77), 18. Auburn (71.78), 19. Houston (71.92), 20. Duke (71.93), 21. Virginia Tech (72.04), 22. BYU (72.04), 23. UNLV (72.09), 24. Northwestern (72.09), 25. San Diego State (72.11)


Championships played May 31-June 3 at the Grand National Lake Course in Opelika, Ala.2000 Team Champion: Oklahoma State (1,116, won in playoff)2000 Team Runner-up: Georgia Tech (1,116)2000 Individual Medalist: Charles Howell, Oklahoma State (67-66-63-69=265)2000 Individual Runner-up: Chris Morris, Houston (71-69-67-66=273)

2001 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship SeedingsDuke University Golf Club, Durham, NCMay 30 - June 2, 2001 

1 East Tennessee State2 Kent State3 Arizona State4 Oklahoma5 Arizona6 North Carolina State7 UC Irvine8 Florida9 Purdue10 Clemson11 Minnesota12 Pacific13 College of Charleston14 South Carolina15 Georgia16 Oregon State17 Virginia Tech18 Oklahoma State19 Georgia Tech20 Augusta State21 Stanford22 Toledo23 UCLA24 Georgia Southern25 Wake Forest26 Alabama-Birmingham27 Southern Methodist28 Mississippi29 Houston30 Washington

Individuals:John Klauk, TexasNick Watney, Fresno StateKirk Satterfield, Furman

Individuals:Charleton Dechert, Oral RobertsLeif Olson, DukeAndy Stewart, Kansas

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder