Three Softball Players Named To USA National Teams

June 5, 2001

SEATTLE - Washington softball players freshman Tia Bollinger (Santa Ana, Calif.), sophomore Jaime Clark (Tustin, Calif.) and senior Kim DePaul (Tomball, Texas) are among 32 players named to two national teams, which will represent the United States during the 2001 season, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) and USA Softball announced Monday.

Bollinger, Clark and DePaul were all named to the USA Blue team, which will compete against the other national team, the USA Red, in the USA Softball Shootout, a West Coast exhibition tour. The shootout will make stops in Portland, Ore., (June 8), Spokane, Wash. (June 10), Sacramento, Calif. (June 14) and Los Angeles, Calif. (June 17).

The USA Red team will then represent the USA at the 2001 U.S. Cup in Honolulu, Hawaii, June 20-24, before rejoining the Blue squad at the 2001 Canada Cup in Vancouver, B.C., June 30-July 6. All three Washington players will then make the journey to South America for the 2001 Pan Am Qualifier in Maracay, Venezuela, July 28-August 5.

The three Huskies will be coached on the USA Blue team by current Arizona head coach Mike Candrea, South Florida head coach Ken Erickson and CSU Fullerton head coach Michelle Gromacki. Former Washington assistant and current Stanford head coach John Rittman, Jay Miller (Missouri) and Kirk Walker (Oregon State) will coach the USA Red team.

2001 ASA/USA Softball National Teams

USA Blue: Toria Auelua, Garden Grove, CA, Lauren Bauer, Santa Ana, CA, Tia Bollinger, Santa Ana, CA, Amy Chellevold, Tucson, AZ, Jaime Clark, Tustin, CA, Courtney Dale, Fresno, CA, Kim DePaul, Tomball, TX, Missy Hixon, Scottsdale, AZ, Nina Lindenberg, Anaheim Hills, CA, Keri McCallum, Port Orchard, WA, Jarrah Myers, Carbondale, KS, Jennifer Sharron, Agoura Hills, CA, Britni Sneed, Houston, TX, Nichole Thompson, Irvine, CA, Jenny Topping, Whittier, CA and Kellie Wilkerson, Jacksonville, FL.

Coaches: Mike Candrea (University of Arizona), Ken Erickson (University of South Florida) and Michelle Gromacki (Cal State Fullerton).

USA Red: Lindsey Collins, Fountain Valley, CA, Amanda Freed, Cypress, CA, Lindsay Gardner, Katy, TX, Michelle Gates, Chowchilla, CA, Nicole Giordano, Saugus, CA, Keira Goerl, Moreno Valley, CA, Lovieanne Jung, Westminster, CA, Lizzy Lemire, Irvine, CA, Toni Mascarenas, Garden Grove, CA, Jessica Mendoza, Camarillo, CA, Tairia Mims, Tucson, AZ, Stacey Nuveman, La Verne, CA, Catherine Osterman, Katy, TX, Trena Peel, Aurora, CO, Kirsten Voak, Fremont, CA and Natasha Watley, Irvine, CA.

Coaches: Jay Miller (University of Missouri), John Rittman (Stanford University) and Kirk Walker (Oregon State University).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network