Track Teams Announce Award Winners

June 6, 2001

EUGENE - The University of Oregon men's and women's track and field teams capped their spring seasons at Wednesday's awards banquet, honoring their award winners for the 2000-2001 campaign.

Bill Dellinger Cross Country Award - Jason Hartmann. The sophomore from Rockford, Mich., earned his second All-America honor last fall at the NCAA Championships (35th) after runner-up honors at the NCAA Western Regional and Pac-10 Championships. He also led team at Iowa State Memorial (30th) and ranked second on squad at Roy Griak Invite (18th) earlier last fall.

Perry Holloman Award - Most Improved - John Stiegeler. This season, the redshirt sophomore from Coos Bay, Ore., turned in one of Oregon's most dramatic improvements ever. Over the span of three months he hiked his personal best in the javelin by more than 27 feet to his current best of 252-10 from his recent NCAA win. That mark also broke Art Skipper's school record by more than foot, moved him to sixth all-time in Pac-10 history, and also secured Oregon's seventh NCAA win in the event.

Harry Ritchie's Jewelers Award - High Point Athlete - Santiago Lorenzo. The junior from Buenos Aires, Argentina tied teammate John Stiegeler for high-point honors in the NCAA finale with his decathlon win, and led the team at the Pac-10 Championships with points in three events - decathlon (first, 7,617), 400 hurdles (fifth, 52.19) and long jump (seventh, 7.03m 23-0 3/4). Overall during the year he won six events, including the Texas Relays decathlon (7,726).

Dow Wilson Award - Most Inspirational - Ryan Keith. The redshirt senior from Salem, Ore., overcame a serious shoulder injury to notch his fourth, top-10 finish and second scoring honor in the javelin at May's Pac-10 Championships. Keith was able to compete in only four meets this season, and was also above the 210-foot mark at the Texas Relays (second, 216-2). In prior years he was an NCAA provisional qualifier in 1999 with his personal best of 220-5 which ranks him eighth all-time for the Ducks.

George Scharpf Award - Outstanding Athlete - Santiago Lorenzo. Last week, Lorenzo overcame a 70-point deficit going into the final event of the NCAA decathlon to score Oregon's first-ever NCAA win in the decathlon (7,899). Oregon's fourth-ranked decathlete all-time, he hiked his preseason personal best by 250 points over the course of the year with wins at the Texas Relays (7,726), Pac-10 Championships (7,617) and NCAA Championships (7,889).

Women's Cross Country Award - Hanna Smedstad. The senior from Sundsvall, Sweden stepped up in her first season as a Duck to lead the team in all six of her appearances last fall. She made her third appearance at the NCAA level (64th) after top-10 finishes at the NCAA Western Regional (eighth) and Pac-10 Championships (ninth).

Coaches' Award Most Improved - Charyl Weingarten. The sophomore from Grand Forks, North Dakota again shined at the Pac-10 Championships with a three-foot, three-inch personal best of 155-6 to take fourth for her second top-four league honor. Overall this season, she outdistanced her preseason personal best of 146-3 in three of her final meets, while another appearance was only an inch short.

Mary Officer Award High Point Athlete - Mary Etter. The sophomore from Everett, Wash., led the Ducks with six wins on the season and six other top-three finishes. At the conference finale, she took fourth in the discus (168-8), followed by her second NCAA appearance (19th, 139-2). On the season she led the team in the shot put (47-11 3/4) and discus (175-9), and ranked second in the hammer (176-10).

Harry Ritchie's Jewelers Award Most Inspirational - Jenny Kenyon. The junior from Newbury Park, Calif., claimed her third Pac-10 scoring honors in the heptathlon three weeks ago (fifth, 4,911). During the season she led the team in the 200 (25.02) and heptathlon (5,046), and ranked second in the 100 hurdles (14.48) and long jump (18-1 3/4w) and third in the high jump (5-4 1/4).

Lynne Winbigler Award Outstanding Athlete - Sarah Malone. The freshman from Newberg, Ore., paced the Ducks with a new school record in the javelin (174-0) that ranked her second nationally at the collegiate season's end. Malone won five meets on the year, finished second at the Pac-10 Championships (167-1) and topped the 160-foot line at her last four meets of the season.

UO Track Hall of Fame Service & Loyalty to Track Program - Terry Trammell. The Oregon Track Club member completes his 23rd year as an official at UO track meets. For the past 14 years, he has served as the finish line coordinator and head timer. His job is especially demanding since Hayward Field often holds some of the biggest and most demanding distance races which often tap his expertise, organization and quick thinking.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder