Three Softball Players Named To Pac-10 All-Academic First Team

June 18, 2001

SEATTLE - Three Washington softball players, 2001 graduates Kelly Hauxhurst (Westminster, Calif.) and Christie Rosenblad (Fillmore, Calif.), along with senior-to-be Shannon Walsh (Covina, Calif.), have been named to the Pac-10 Softball All-Academic first team, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

The UW's three, first-team selections are the most of any Pac-10 squad. The trio is joined by Husky outfielder Becky Simpson (Tumwater, Wash.), an honorable mention honoree.

Hauxhurst, a first-team all-region selection, led the UW in batting for most of the 2001 season, posting a .386 average, while leading the team in hits with 73. The senior co-captain also reached base in 57 of 63 games, recording a pair of double-digit hit streaks en route to third-team All-America honors. It is Hauxhurst's third Pac-10 all-academic honor and her second consecutive appearance on the first team.

Rosenblad was a four-year starter at second base for the Huskies, earning team defensive MVP honors this season with a .974 fielding percentage and a .968 career mark. In 2001, she hit .293 in 63 games with a career-best seven home runs to earn all-Pac-10 honors. Rosenblad was named to the conference academic honorable mention squad in both 1999 and 2000.

Walsh was one of Washington's two starting pitchers in 2001, finishing the year with a 4-14 record with 70 strikeouts in 106 innings pitched. The right-hander also saw starting time at the designated player position, collecting 14 hits and five RBI. Walsh was a second team Pac-10 all-academic selection a year ago.

Simpson finished her junior campaign in 2001 with a .291 batting average, while starting in 50 games primarily in right field and at the designated player spot. She finished tied for the team lead in stolen bases with 13 and tallied 31 runs scored and three home runs. It is Simpson's first selection to the conference all-academic team.


First Team Yr. GPA Major
Paige Bowie, CAL Sr. 3.73 Business Administration
Erica Beach, ASU Jr. 3.22 Broadcasting
Sarah Beeson, STAN Jr. 3.68 Human Biology
Kara Brun, ASU So. 3.54 Undecided
Triawn Custer, ORE Sr. 3.26 Sociology
Kelly Hauxhurst, WASH Sr. 3.36 Speech Communication
Alyssa Laux, ORE So. 3.37 Psychology
Christie Rosenblad, WASH Sr. 3.25 Anthropology
Jenni Shideler, STAN Sr. 3.35 Psychology
Shannon Walsh, WASH Jr. 3.28 History/Political Science

Second Team
Lauren Bauer, ARIZ Sr. 3.11 Communication
Cassi Brangham, STAN So. 3.54 American Studies
Bonnie Brannen, ASU Jr. 3.37 Biology
Kira Ching, STAN So. 3.20 American Studies
Jennifer Forner, ASU So. 3.26 Undecided
Eryn Manahan, CAL So. 3.33 Undeclared
Courtney Scott, CAL So. 3.21 Undeclared
Dana Sorenson, STAN So. 3.10 Communications
Shannon Sorg, OSU So. 3.32 Pre-Communication
Robin Walker, STAN Jr. 3.15 History

Honorable Mention: Janell Bergstrom, ORE, Alicia Flanagan, ASU, Erika Hanson, ARIZ, Amber Hutchison, ORE, Maureen LeCocq, STAN, Veronica Nelson, CAL, Stacey Nuveman, UCLA, Amber Phillips, CAL, Erin Rahn, UCLA, Becky Simpson, WASH, Rachel Tommasini, ORE.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder