Pac-10 Tops All Conferences in 2000-01 NCAA Titles (6/22/01)

June 22, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Pacific-10 Conference claimed eight NCAA Championships in the just concluded 2000-01
academic year, most of any major conference. The women led the way, as seven of the eight NCAA crowns came in women's sports. The eight NCAA titles by the Pac-10 edged out the Southeastern Conference, which claimed seven.

UCLA was the leading institutions with four NCAA crowns, most of any school in the nation.
The Bruins snatched titles in men's and women's water polo, women's gymnastics and women's indoor track and field. Other NCAA championships claimed by Pac-10 members included softball by Arizona, women's outdoor track and field by USC, women's rowing by Washington and women's tennis by Stanford.

It marks the second year in a row and four out of the last five years that the Pac-10 has
led all conferences in NCAA Championships.

Following are 2000-01 NCAA Championships by conference:

	NCAA	Titles	Conference	8	Pacific-10	7	Southeastern	5	Big East	3	Atlantic Coast	3	Big 12	2	Big Ten

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder