USC To Host Janet Evans Invitational

July 18, 2001

Olympians Misty Hyman and Gabrielle Rose and Orange County star Kristen Caverly are among the highlights at the eighth annual Janet Evans Invitational at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium from Thursday through Sunday (July 19-22).

The Janet Evans Invitational, presented by Speedo, is one of the largest U.S. meets in the nation and is part of the United States Swimming Grand Prix Series. More than 600 swimmers will be in competition, featuring club teams throughout Southern California and much of the Western United States as well as teams from Canada, Mexico and New Zealand.

Among the USC stars slated to compete are All-Americans Mark Warkentin (four-time gold medalist at the 1999 World University Games), Michala Kwasny (two-time 2000 U.S. Olympic Trials finalist), Corrie Murphy (2001 World University Games entree) and Jeff Lee (four-time 2001 All-American).

The Invitational is named after one of the world's greatest female Olympic swimmers, Janet Evans, who was a four-time Olympic gold medalist and former USC assistant coach.

The meet kicks off on Thursday (July 19) at 5 p.m. with timed finals of the 800m freestyle. Preliminaries will begin at 9 a.m. and finals start at 5 p.m. Friday through Sunday.

Results will be faxed to local outlets each night and will be available on the internet at

Tickets will be available for purchase at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium each day of the event: $2 for prelims, $4 for finals and $5 for an all-day pass. Children age 6 and under will be admitted free. For more information, call (213) 740-8444.

Janet Evans Invitational Event Schedule

Thursday: 800m freestyle

Friday: 100m freestyle, 200m butterfly, 200m backstroke, 400m freestyle, 400m freestyle relay

Saturday: 200m freestyle, 200m breaststroke, 50m freestyle, 400m individual medley, 800m freestyle relay

Sunday: 100m butterfly, 100m backstroke, 100m breaststroke, 200m individual medley, 1500m freestyle, 400m medley relay

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder