Mark Marquess Named 2001 ABCA/Rawlings West Region Coach Of The Year

July 23, 2001

Stanford's Mark Marquess has been named the 2001 ABCA/Rawlings West Region Baseball Coach of the Year. Marquess guided his Stanford Baseball team to the College World Series championship game for the second consecutive year in 2001.

The Cardinal finished its 2001 campaign with a 51-17 overall record, giving Stanford its third straight season with 50 or more wins for the first time in school history.

Marquess, a three-time NCAA Coach of the Year and eight-time Pac-10 Coach of the Year, also won his 1000th career game during the 2001 season as he became only the 23rd head coach in the history of Division I baseball to reach the 1000-win mark. He has compiled an overall record of 1046-515-5 (.670) in 25 years as the head baseball coach at Stanford.

Marquess has taken his Cardinal teams to the College World Series 11 times and has qualified for the NCAA Tournament on 19 occasions. Stanford won CWS championships under Marquess in 1987 and 1988, while finishing as runners-up in 2000 and 2001.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder