Men's Track and Field Year In Review

July 26, 2001

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

STANFORD's depth in the distance events enabled the Cardinal to win the Pac-10 Championships with 142 points, its first track and field title since 1927. The Cardinal men swept the top four positions in the 1500-meters and took four of the top-five positions in the 800-meter event. USC finished second (136) and UCLA took third (115.5).

At the NCAA Championships, Stanford was the top finishing Pac-10 team placing fourth. The Cardinal narrowly missed medal contention with a 0.5 point deficient to Baylor (36-36.5). Stanford had one individual champion (Jonathon Riley-5000m) and five members finishing in the Top 10 in their respective events. Other Pac-10 athletes winning NCAA titles included USC's Dennis Kholev (pole vault), OREGON's John Stiegeler (javelin) and Oregon's Santiago Lorenzo (decathlon).

The accomplishments of ARIZONA STATE's Marcus Brunson earned him Pac-10 Men's Track and Field Athlete of the Year accolades. Brunson sprinted away with the 100-meter (10.21) and 200-meter (20.62) titles at the Pac-10 Championships and he was a member of the Sun Devils' first-place 4x400-meter relay team. At the NCAA Championships, he placed third in the 100-meters (10.26) and fourth in the 200-meters (20.60w). Brunson retires his maroon and gold uniform as a seven-time All-American and a school record-holder in the 100-meters (10.10).

Stanford's Donald Sage was honored as the Pac-10 Men's Track and Field Newcomer of the Year. Sage finished second in the 1,500-meters clocking an impressive 3:43.70. In the 5000-meters, Sage finished in fourth place at the Pac-10 Championships. His 1,500-meter time of 3:39.27 was tops among collegiate freshman this season and was the top mark for all Pac-10 athletes in that event.

Stanford's Vin Lananna received the men's Coach of the Year accolade for his second consecutive year. Lananna guided the Cardinal to their first Pac-10 men's title in over 70 years. Under his coaching expertise the Stanford men also finished in the top-four in as many seasons at the NCAA Championships.

PAC-10 ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Marcus Brunson, Arizona State

PAC-10 NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Donald Sage, Stanford

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Vin Lananna, Stanford

MEN'S TRACK - April 10 - Santiago Lorenzo, ORE (decathlon), April 16 - Michael Campbell, ASU (400M), April 23 - Marcus Brunson, ASU (200M), April 30 - Michael Stember, STAN (Relays), May 7 - Simon Kimata, ORE (800M), May 14 - Gabe Jennings, STAN (800M).

MEN'S FIELD - April 10 - John Stiegeler, ORE (JT), April 16 - David Wood, ASU (SP), April 23 - Chad Wassink, STAN (JT), April 30 - John Stiegeler, ORE (JT), May 7 - Djeke Mambo, USC (TJ, LJ, 110mH), May 14 - Santiago Lorenzo, ORE (decathlon).


First Team Yr. GPA Major
Christian Banken, ARIZ Sr. 3.81 MIS
Todd Beyerlein, STAN Sr. 3.54 Urban Studies
John Collin, CAL Sr. 3.56 English
Martin Conrad, CAL So. 3.75 Undeclared
Eric Dudley, WSU Jr. 3.95 Mechanical Engineering
Joe Franklin, UCLA Sr. 3.40 Chinese
Bryan Green, UCLA Jr. 3.42 Philosophy
Michael Harte, STAN Sr. 3.69 International Relations
Scott Johnson, WSU Jr. 3.82 General Business
Santiago Lorenzo, ORE Jr. 3.72 Exercise and Movement Science
Chad Martin, ARIZ Sr. 3.90 Optical Engineering
Thomas Murley, STAN Sr. 3.49 Art History/Religious Studies
Justin Nikbakhsh-Tali, WSU So. 3.91 Accounting
Justin Owen, ASU So. 3.79 Business
Billy Pappas, ORE Jr. 3.70 Psychology
Bryan Preuss, WSU Sr. 3.68 Marketing
John Steigeler, ORE So. 3.83 Mathematics
Adam Tenforde, STAN So. 3.86 Human Biology
Jesse Thomas, STAN Jr. 3.50 Mechanical Engineering
Second Team Yr. GPA Major
Fasil Bizuneh, ASU So. 3.33 Chemical Engineering
Christopher Coffee, CAL Sr. 3.32 Architecture
Richard Collins, WSU So. 3.45 Undeclared
Mike Cramer, ARIZ Jr. 3.39 Chemical Engineering
Kris Cuaresma-Prim, CAL RFr. 3.62 Undeclared
Timothy Gehring, WSU RFr. 3.68 Accounting
Gabe Jennings, STAN Jr. 3.25 Music
Ian Johnson, WSU RFr. 3.57 General Language
Mike Kenyon, ARIZ Sr. 3.31 Physical Education
Andrew Knutsen, USC So. 3.45 Computer Science/Engineering
Harrison Lee, USC So. 3.40 Cinema/TV
Robert McLean, CAL Jr. 3.36 Political Science
Jeremy Rasmussen, ASU So. 3.41 Computer Information Systems
Frank Remund, WASH Jr. 3.38 Economics
Josh Robinson, WASH Jr. 3.39 Biochemistry
Joseph Urbanski, STAN So. 3.60 History
Brad Walker, WASH So. 3.42 Undecided
Jonathan Welsh, WSU Jr. 3.30 Political Science
Justin Williams, STAN So. 3.45 Undeclared

Honorable Mention: Che Banjoko, STAN, Kyle Barker, WSU, David Bazzi, WASH, Mark Blanco, CAL, Wayne Boddy, CAL, Marcus Brunson, ASU, David Burke, ASU, John Clamon, UCLA, Justin Cox, USC, Corey Creasey, CAL, Jared Drake, UCLA, Jamey Gifford, STAN, Jacob Hazelquist, WSU, Seth Hejny, STAN, Andrew Hill, STAN, Michael Hill, WASH, Cody Howell, ORE, Omer Inan, STAN, Cheyne Jones, ASU, Simon Kamau, WSU, Marcus Kelly, WASH, Milton Little, STAN, Steve Loughlin, STAN, James March, ORE, Nate Marum, UCLA, Nicholas Mazur, CAL, Warrick McDowell, STAN, Tyler Noesen, CAL, Daniel Parris, STAN, Michael Ponikvar, STAN, Tom Prindiville, ARIZ, Chris Sprague, STAN, Brandon Strong, ASU, Keith Varga, ARIZ, Chad Wassink, STAN, Nick Welihozkiy, STAN, Zech Whittington, CAL, Ahmad Wright, CAL, Andrew Wulf, UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder