Kyle Boller Candidate for Davey O'Brien Award

Aug. 9, 2001

BERKELEY - Cal junior quarterback Kyle Boller has been listed a one of 30 candidates on the preseason watch list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which is given annually to the nation's top quarterback.

Boller enters his third year as a starter for the Bears this fall. After two years, he ranks 12th on Cal's career list with 3,424 passing yards. Last season, he completed 163-of-349 passes for 2,121 yards and 15 touchdowns, ranking sixth in the Pac-10 with an average of 192.8 ypg.

The O'Brien committee, which is comprised of sportswriters and commentators from around the country, will select eight semifinalists the first week of November. The winner will be announced Dec. 6 during ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The O'Brien Award is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien, an All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback at TCU who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

Here is the complete list of candidates for the 2001 award:

Kyle Boller, CaliforniaEric Crouch, NebraskaWoodrow Dantzler, ClemsonRohan Davey, LSUKen Dorsey, MiamiDavid Carr, Fresno StateCasey Clausen, TennesseeRonald Curry, North CarolinaK.C. Enzminger, New Mexico StateMark Farris, Texas A&MDaivd Garrard, East CarolinaGeorge Godsey, Georgia TechRex Grossman, FloridaJoey Harrington, OregonJeff Kelly, Southern MississippiKliff Kingsbury, Texas TechKurt Kittner, IllinoisZak Kustok, NorthwesternByron Leftwich, MarshallJared Lorenzen, KentuckyDavid Neill, NevadaCarson Palmer, USCDavid Priestley, PittsburghCasey Printers, TCUDave Ragone, LouisvillePatrick Ramsey, TulanePhilip RIvers, North Carolina StateChris Simms, TexasJonathan Ogden, Oregon StateJason Thomas, UNLV
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder