UW's Colleen Gray Reaches ITA Summer Championship Quarterfinals

Aug. 12, 2001

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Washington junior Colleen Gray won her third straight match Sunday to advance to the quarterfinals of the women's singles competition at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association(ITA) National Summer Championships, presented by the United States TennisAssociation (USTA).

Gray (Granite Bay, Calif.), who won a pair of matches in straight sets on Saturday, defeated UCLA's Maricko Fritz-Krockow 6-4, 6-2 in the round of 16. She meets Gretchen Haynor of Purdue in the round of eight. Haynor defeated Syracuse's Margot Ahlquist 6-0, 6-0.

Host Indiana University will be sending two players to Monday's singles quarterfinals. Hoosiers Amanda Field and Linda Tran both picked up third round women'ssingles victories. Field topped Xavier's Lauren Clary 6-1,6-0, and Tranupset third-seeded Rebekah Forney of Texas 6-0, 6-2.

Illinois' second-seeded Jennifer McGaffigan, Texas' No. 4-seed Kaysie Smashey, TCU's Saber Pierce, Furman's Megan Dunnigan, Washington's Gray and Purdue's Haynor round out the final eight.

Gray also competed in the doubles competition, teaming with Amy Trankino of UC-Irvine. That West Coast duo registered an 8-5 first-round victory over Lauren Haddix and Meredith Vincent before suffering an 8-4 quarterfinal loss to the tandem of Kendall Cline and Saber Pierce.

The doubles semifinals are also set. Indiana's Karie Schlukebir and Tran, andField and Jessica Levin both won two rounds today to advance to the finalfour. Schlukebir's older sister Katie won the women's doubles title at the1996 ITA National Summer Championships while at Stanford. On the men's sidetop seeds Calkins and Delic of Illinois will highlight tomorrow's semis.

A 10-point match tie-breaker is being played in place of a third set insingles. The collegiate format, one eight-game set, is being used in doubles.Play resumes with singles quarterfinals at 9 a.m. CT tomorrow, followed bythe semifinals and the doubles semifinals. Admission to the tournament isfree. The tournament can be followed on the ITA's official website,www.itatennis.com.

The ITA National Summer Championships, presented by the USTA, are thepinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit and are sanctioned by the USTAas the U.S. National Amateur Tennis Championships. The men's and women'ssingles and doubles champions from this tournament will earn USTA gold ballsand wild card berths into the Oct. 11-14 ITA Men's and Women's All-AmericanChampionships. The ITA National Summer Championships feature amateur (mainlycollegiate) players from all over the country. The tournament consists of64-player men's and women's singles draws as well as doubles and mixeddoubles.

The ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit is made up of five regional circuits (East,Southeast, Midwest, Southwest and West) for collegiate players as well as thegeneral public. Each region consists of four consecutive tournaments playedduring the month of July and serve as a prelude to the ITA National SummerChampionships.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athleticand academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, whichwas founded in 1956 and is based in Princeton, N.J., administers numerousregional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit,presented by the USTA, and the ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings for men's andwomen's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior Collegelevels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players andcoaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. TheITA website is www.ITAtennis.com.###

ITA National Summer Championship Results
Sunday, August 12, 2001
Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind.

Third Round
(2) Jennifer McGaffigan, Illinois d. Margaret Purcell, Yale, 6-3, 6-1
(5-8) Amanda Field, Indiana d. Lauren Clary, Xavier, 6-1, 6-0
Linda Tran, Indiana d. (3) Rebekah Forney, Texas, 6-0, 6-2
(5-8) Saber Pierce, TCU d. (9-12) Lauren Haddix, LSU, walkover
(9-12) Megan Dunnigan, Furman d. Audra Adams, Mississippi, 6-2, 6-3
(4) Kaysie Smashey, Texas d. (9-12) Kendall Cline, North Carolina, 1-6,6-2,1-0 (10-4)
Colleen Gray, Washington d. (5-8) Maricko Fritz-Krockow, UCLA, 6-4, 6-2
Gretchen Haynor, Purdue d. Margot Ahlquist, Syracuse, 6-0, 6-0

First Round

(1-4) KarieSchlukebir/Linda Tran d. Julie Ferguson/Kate Lutgert, default
Jennifer Baker/Katalina Romero d. Eva Chao/Gretchen Haynor, 9-8 (8-6)
Colleen Gray/Amy Tranckino d. Lauren Haddix/Meredith Vincent, 8-5
(1-4) Kendall Cline/Saber Pierce d. Taryn Bowen/Margie Zessinger, 8-2
Kate McGaffigan/Jennifer McGaffigan d. (1-4) Jill Buckley/Megan Dunnigan, 8-4
Erika Fisk/Monica Rincon d. Jennifer Panko/Margarett Purcell, 8-0
Amanda Field/Jessica Levin d. Mariko Fritz-Krockow/Alexandra Smith, 8-2
(1-4) Rebekah Forney/Kaysie Smashey d. Ashley Abramson/Tana Trapani, 8-0

Schlukebir/Tran d.Baker/ Romero, 8-4
Cline/ Pierce d. Gray/ Tranckino, 8-4
Fisk/Rincon d. McGaffigan/McGaffigan, 8-6
Field/Levin d. Forney/Smashey, 8-6

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder