OSU Crew To Celebrate 75 Years Of Rowing

Aug. 14, 2001

CORVALLIS, Ore. - - As the Oregon State crew program enters its 75th year of competition, the Beaver rowers, coaching staff, and alumni will celebrate OSU's rowing tradition with a day of festivities on Saturday, Sept. 29. The events lead up to the 12:30 p.m. home football game between Oregon State and UCLA.

Due to the game being picked up for national broadcast by ABC, the kickoff has been moved up to 12:30 p.m. from its original start time of 3:30.

The day now kicks off with a 9:00 a.m. alumni row at the OSU boathouse which is located along the east bank of the Willamette River, just before entering Corvallis on Highway 34. Following the row, a breakfast and silent auction will be held from approximately 10:00-11:30.

Ticket prices for the 75th Anniversary celebration are $50, which includes a football game ticket, and $25 without a game ticket. Due to limited availability, those wishing to purchase game ticket packages must respond by Sept. 8. Also included in the ticket price is a commemorative OSU crew T-shirt.

A free shuttle will provide transportation from the boathouse to Reser Stadium beginning at approximately 11:30 a.m.

Featured at the event will be talks given by Oregon State Director of Athletics Mitch Barnhart and the OSU coaching staff, as well as a boat christening at halftime of the football game.

OSU's rowing program took off in the fall of 1926, when two shells arrived in Corvallis as a gift from the California Rowing Club. Since then, the men's and women's crews have produced three Olympians and 21 U.S. National Team members.

Recently, former OSU standout and three-time world championship rower Amy Martin rowed for the United States in the 2000 Olympic Games, while Joey Hansen will represent Oregon State as a member of the U.S. National Team in the men's eight at the World Championships this August.

For directions and more information on the alumni row, please contact Kjell Oswald, assistant men's crew coach, at (541) 737-5246 or email him at Kjell.Oswald@orst.edu .

OSU ROWERS IN THE OLYMPICS:Amy Martin, 2000, Tom Woodman, 1980, Robert Zagunis, 1976

OSU ROWERS ON THE U.S. NATIONAL TEAM:Amy Martin, 1999, '98, '97, Holly (Kays) Brunkow, 1990, '89, '87, Ed Gross, 1995, '94, '93, Karl Bjergo, 1991, Shane Petersen, 1991, Charlie Owen, 1991, Mark Hanley, 1987, '85, Dan McGill, 1985, Paul Rooney, 1983, '82, Tom Woodman, 1981, '79, Gary Bohlin, 1978.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder