UW Goalkeeper Hope Solo is One of 13 Hermann Trophy Candidates

Aug. 16, 2001

CHARLOTTE, N.C - Washington junior goalkeeper Hope Solo is one of 13 candidates for the prestigious Hermann Trophy honoring the college women's soccer player of the year, the Hermann Foundation announced on Thursday.

The Hermann Trophy, soccer's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, has been given annually since 1988 to the nation's best female college soccer player. The award is named for Robert R. Hermann, the former Chairman of the Executive Committee of the old North American Soccer League and one of that ground-breaking league's founders.

Solo is the only goalkeeper among the 13 Herman candidates. She has played with the U.S. National Team during the past two years, earning seven 'caps' for participating in international contests.

'I'm so excited and humbled to be included on a list of only 13 players for this award,' Solo exclaimed.

Solo started every game in 2000, leading the Huskies to their finest season ever. Washington received the No. 2 seed for the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the Sweet 16 for the first time.

The Huskies finished with an 18-3 record and claimed their first Pac-10 championship. Solo's play was critical in the run to the Pac-10 title as eight of UW's nine conference games were decided by one-goal margins, including four 1-0 decisions.

'To be nominated as a Hermann candidate is a huge tribute to Hope for her ability and what she did for us last season,' said Washington head coach Lesle Gallimore. 'Some people may think a goalkeeper only has an outside shot to be the player of the year, but when they make as big a difference on a team as Hope has with ours, you certainly have to consider them.'

A product of Richland (Wash.) High School, Solo registered six shutouts, 95 saves and a school-record 0.76 goals against average. She garnered All-America and first-team All-Pac-10 honors following the 2000 season.

Joining Solo among the Hermann Trophy candidates are: Santa Clara's Danielle Slaton and Aly Wagner, Penn State's Christie Welsh, Florida's Abby Wambach, Brigham Young's Aleisha Cramer, UCLA's Mary-Frances Monroe and Stephanie Rigamat, Portland's Lauren Orlandos, Texas &M's Nicky Thrasher and North Carolina's Danielle Borgman and Jena Kluegel.

The candidates were chosen by a ballot of Division I college coaches and selected media. In a twist added to the selection process this year, two spots on the final ballot will remain open until Oct. 1. At that time, a poll of coaches and media will be conducted to add the final two names to each of the 15-player ballot before the final voting is conducted. This is to ensure that any player having a stellar season will be eligible to win the prestigious player of the year award.

Final ballots will be distributed to all Division I college coaches, tabulated, and three women finalists will be announced on Dec. 1. The winner of the 2001 Hermann Trophy will be announced at the College Cup, on Dec. 8 in Dallas, Texas.

Collegesoccer.com will be the presenting sponsor of the Hermann Trophy for the next three years. TEAMtalk Media Group plc, the parent company of collegesoccer.com, is a world leader in custom content and professional services. Among the customers U.S.-based TEAMtalk, Inc. currently serves are The West Coast Conference, the Women's United Soccer Association, the Atlanta Beat, Washington Freedom, New York Power, Bay Area CyberRays, Amoco Racing, M&Ms Racing, and US Youth Soccer.

For continuing coverage of the Hermann Trophy races, go to www.collegesoccer.com, the presenting sponsor of the award.

The Huskies' 2001 season begins with an intra-squad scrimmage on Aug. 25. Kick-off is 7 p.m. at Husky Soccer Field. Washington begins regular-season play on Sept. 1 at Utah State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network