Farmer Named Candidate for Doak Walker Award

Aug. 24, 2001

DALLAS - UA halfback Clarence Farmer is one of 43 preseason candidates for the Doak Walker Award, the Southwestern Bell-SMU Athletic Forum announced today.

The award, presented annually to the nation's top college running back, was established in 1990 and named after the 1948 Heisman Trophy winner and three-time All-American from Southern Methodist. A member of the College and Pro Football halls of fame, Walker was the first junior to win the Heisman. Last year's winner was LaDainian Tomlinson of Texas Christian.

Farmer, a UA sophomore who rushed for 666 yards last year on 138 attempts as a true freshman, earned Freshman All-America honors and became UA's all-time leading freshman rusher. He is one of two UA freshmen to rush for 100 in three games, joining Ontiwaun Carter (1991). His longest rush of the year was a 80-yard touchdown jaunt against Southern California.

First-year Arizona coach John Mackovic coached 1997 Doak Walker winner Ricky Williams (who later won in 1998 as well) at Texas, and UA offensive coordinator Rick Dykes helped Byron 'Bam' Morris win the 1993 Doak Walker award and Byron Hanspard win the 1995 Walker award at Texas Tech.

Farmer and fellow candidate Larry Ned of San Diego State will square off in the Wildcat's season opener Thursday, Aug. 30. Ned is one of a handful of players to rush for more than 100 yards agaainst Arizona's defense in the recent past.

'The preseason candidates for the 2001 Doak Walker Award are not only being recognized for their excellence on the field but also for their achievements in the classroom and in the community,' said Randall Goss, chair of the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors. 'We look forward to watching the progress of each of these outstanding student-athletes this fall.'

The award will be presented live on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show Dec. 6.

Farmer is one of seven Doak Walker candidates from the Pacific-10 Conference along with Delvon Flowers of Arizona State, DeShaun Foster of UCLA, Joe Igber of California, Sultan McCullough of Southern California, David Minnich of Washington State and Ken Simonton of Oregon State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder