Granville To Be Honored By Intercollegiate Tennis Association

FOREST HILLS, N.Y. - Tennis Magazine/Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Players of the Year Laura Granville (Chicago, Ill.) of Stanford and Matias Boeker of Georgia headline the 2001 Rolex Collegiate All-Star Team, which will be honored by the ITA, Tennis Magazine and Rolex Watch, U.S.A., Friday, Aug. 24, at the historic West Side Tennis Club.

Granville is only the third women's player to win back-to-back Tennis Magazine/ITA National Player of the Year honors. Granville, who turned pro following her sophomore season, captured her second straight NCAA singles title while also leading Stanford to a 30-0 record and the NCAA team title (and reached the NCAA doubles final). In February Granville, who finished at No. 1 in the ITA national singles rankings for the second straight season, broke the NCAA Division I record for consecutive wins when she won her 58th straight match. She was 46-1 last year in singles and 93-3 over the past two seasons. Granville, who faces No. 1 Martina Hingis in the first round of next week's U.S. Open, was also named ITA National Player of the Month in February and was an ITA All-American in singles and doubles.

Also being honored Friday are Tennis Magazine/Arthur Ashe, Jr., Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners Marco Baron of Mississippi State and Carolina Mayorga of Kentucky, and the Rolex Achievement Award recipients Patricia Acheson, formerly of Queens (N.C.) College and Judge Gerald E. Rosen, formerly of Kalamazoo (Mich.) College.

Among the guests at the 11:30 a.m. ET awards luncheon will be tennis legend Stan Smith, former New York City Mayor David Dinkins and Mervin Heller, President of the United States Tennis Association (USTA).

The ITA and Tennis Magazine selected their 18th edition of the Rolex Collegiate All-Star Team, which includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as the winners of the 2001 Rolex National Intercollegiate Indoor Championship. Sophomore Lauren Barnikow (Woodbridge, N.J.) and seniors Gabriela Lastra (Reno, Nev.) and Lauren Kalavaria (Indialantic, Fla.) will also be honored as all-stars. All-American Alex Kim (Potomac, Md.) was a member of the men's all-star team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder