Football Players Honored

Sept. 10, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Wide receiver Nakoa McElrath of Washington State, cornerback OmareLowe of Washington and kicker Ryan Cesca of Oregon State have been named Pac-10 Players of theWeek in football.

McElrath, a senior from La Jolla, Calif., starred in Washington State's 41-20 win at Boise State thatsnapped the Broncos' 14-game home winning streak. McElrath pulled in eight receptions for 208 yards(26.0-yard average), including touchdown catches of 7, 25 and 71 yards. He currently leads the nation inreceiving yardage and leads the Pac-10 in scoring. Washington State piled up 389 yards passing and499 yards total offense at Boise.

Lowe, a senior from Maple Valley, Wash., played a key role in Washington's come-from-behind winagainst No. 11-ranked Michigan. In a span of 51 seconds in the fourth quarter, Lowe was involved intwo plays that brought the Huskies from behind in the game to a lead they never relinquished. Loweblocked a Michigan field goal attempt that a teammate returned 77 yards for a touchdown. Two playslater, he intercepted a pass an returned it 21 yards for what proved to be the winning touchdown. Lowerecorded 10 tackles, eight unassisted, and broke up three passes, including a Michigan two-pointconversion attempt.

Cesca, a junior from Manhattan Beach, Calif., played a key role in Oregon State's 27-22 road win atNew Mexico State. He connected on two of three field goal attempts from 47 and 24 yards (the otherattempt was blocked). In addition, five of his six kickoffs went out of the end zone for no return.Also nominated for offensive player of the week honors were quarterbacks Jeff Krohn of Arizona Stateand Jason Johnson of Arizona, tailbacks DeShaun Foster of UCLA and Ken Simonton of Oregon State andwide receivers Ryan Wells of Stanford, Jason Willis of Oregon and Reggie Williams of Washington.Also nominated on defense were linebackers Raonall Smith of Washington State, Ryan Nece of UCLAand Lance Briggs of Arizona and cornberbacks Emmanuel Franklin of Arizona State and Rashad Baumanof Oregon. Kickers John Anderson of Washington, Mike Biselli of Stanford, Mike Barth of ArizonaState and Ryan Slack of Arizona and long snapper Jeff Grau of UCLA were nominated for special teamsplay.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder