Warren Moon Named to CFL Hall of Fame

Sept. 14, 2001

HAMILTON, Ont. - Former Husky quarterback Warren Moon, who led Washington to the 1978 Rose Bowl championship, will be one of five inductees in 2001 to the Canadian Football Hall of Fame, as announced by the CFL Hall of Fame and Museum.

The 1983 Schenley Award winner as the league's most outstanding player, Moon led the Edmonton Eskimos to five Grey Cup championships during his six-year career from 1978-1983, losing in the title game in his one non-championship season. Moon completed his CFL career with a league-leading 5,648 yards and 31 touchdowns in 1983, and his 108.3 passer rating in 1981 still ranks fifth all-time in the CFL.

Moon went on to play 17 years in the NFL, mostly with the Houston Oilers, and finished his career in 2000 as the league's all-time passing leader with 49,325 yards. In three seasons at Washington, from 1975-78, Moon passed for over 3,000 yards, earning Rose Bowl MVP and Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year honors in 1978. Moon was inducted into the Husky Hall of Fame in 1984, and became a member of the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame in 1997.

Moon will join former CFL running back Willie Burden, tackle Bill Frank and defensive end James Parker on the podium at the CFL Hall of Fame induction ceremonies Sept. 21 in Hamilton, Ontario. Former coach and executive Sidney Forster will be inducted posthumously.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder