Sun Devil Men's Golf Team Opens Season In New Mexico

Sept. 18, 2001

OPENING DRIVE : The Arizona State men's golf team opens its 2001-02 campaign this weekend when the Sun Devils travel to the 47th annual William H. Tucker Intercollegiate. Play begins Friday, September 21, with 36 holes and a shotgun start at 7 a.m. (MST). The tournament concludes Saturday, September 22, with the final 18 holes, also a shotgun start at 7 a.m. (MST). The Tucker will be played at the UNM Championship Course (South), which measures 7,248 yards and is a par 72. The tournament has been played continuously at the Championship Course since 1967.

ASU LINEUP: The Sun Devils will feature a lineup of sophomore Chez Reavie, senior Brian Nosler, senior Tyler Erickson, junior Brady Stockton and true freshman Pat Moore. Reavie is coming off a great summer as he won the U.S. Public Links Championship and will compete in the 2002 Masters. Nosler was a semifinalist at the 2001 U.S. Amateur.

MORE REAVIE: Chez Reavie played in 10 events last year and posted a 72.58 stroke average, including two top-10 finishes and his impressive NCAA finish. His top showing was at the NCAAs, as he posted a 7-under 281 (71-67-74-69) to finish tied for fourth, the second-best finish by an ASU freshman since Phil Mickelson won the title as a frosh in 1989. Only Darren Angel (tied for third in 1996) has had a better finish as a Sun Devil freshman in the past 12 seasons at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships.

RESULTS: Results from the William H. Tucker can be found on the UNM website at as soon as possible following play both Friday and Saturday. First round results will be posted Friday afternoon, with second round results available Friday evening. Results will be faxed to all competing schools and local media as well.

THE FIELD: The William H. Tucker consists of 20 teams, seven of which are ranked in the Golf World top-20 poll (Golf World rankings in parentheses): Air Force, Arizona (2), ASU (10), Brigham Young, Colorado, Colorado State, Hawaii, New Mexico (19), New Mexico JV, New Mexico State, Oregon State (22), Pepperdine (20), San Diego State, SE Louisiana, Southern California (20), Texas A&M, UNLV (13), Utah, Wyoming and UTEP.

ABOUT THE TUCKER: The William H. Tucker Intercollegiate is the second-oldest golf tournament in the nation, behind only the New England Intercollegiate. It is named in honor of English golf course architect and former UNM groundskeeper William Tucker. From 1955-88, the tournament was a 72-hole format, but adapted to a 54-hole structure in 1989, conforming with current NCAA standards.

NCAA REGIONAL HOSTS: For the third time in the 14-year history of NCAA Regional play, the University of New Mexico will host the West Regional May 16-18, 2002, at the UNM Championship Course. A total of 27 teams will be invited from conferences around the country, with the top 10 teams advancing to the NCAA Championships May 30 - June 2, in Columbus, Ohio. UNM also hosted the NCAA West Regional in 1991 and 1995, and the Lobos qualified for the NCAA Championships each time.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network