Duck Men's Harriers Sweep Season Opener

Sept. 19, 2001

PORTLAND, Ore. - A 'B' unit from the University of Oregon men's cross country squad opened its season Wednesday afternoon in Portland's Pier Park, winning a triangular against Portland and Portland State.

The 6K race featured 'B' squads from Oregon and Portland, and Portland State's varsity team, as the Ducks edged UP, 20-36, and PSU, 15-47. The host Pilots edged the Vikings, 18-41.

Claiming his first win of his career, Oregon sophomore Noel Paulson (Aumsville) crossed the line first (18:27), just ahead of sophomore teammate John Lucas of Eagle Point (second, 18:30) and Portland's Steve Schaeffer (third, 18:35).

Other Oregon finishers included junior Oliver Redig (fourth, 18:55), senior Adam Bergquist (sixth, 19:01), freshman Kyle Robinson (seventh, 19:01), senior Simon Kimata (11th, 19:37) and senior Ross Krempley (12th, 19:59).

The Duck men's cross country squad returns to action in 1 � weeks at the Roy Griak Invitational in St. Paul, Minn., Sat., Sept. 29. The 8K race will be held on the Les Bolstad Golf Course at the University of Minnesota. Nationally, the Ducks are ranked 13th overall heading into season, and will be one of several top-25 teams on hand.

The Oregon women's squad will open their season later this weekend at the Sundodger Invitational, Saturday, Sept. 22, hosted by the University of Washington in Lincoln Park. Action is scheduled to start at 9 a.m. and more details can be found at


Oregon-Portland-Portland State Triangular
Pier Park
Portland, Ore.
Wednesday, September 19, 2001
5,820 meters

Team Results - Oregon 'B' 20, Portland 'B' 36. Oregon 'B' 15, Portland State 47. Portland 'B' 18, Portland State 41.

Individual Results - 1, Noel Paulson, Oregon, 18 minutes, 27 seconds. 2, John Lucas, Oregon, 18:30. 3, Steve Schaefer, Portland, 18:35. 4, Oliver Redig, Oregon, 18:55. 5, Chris Olinger, Portland, 18:56. 6, Adam Bergquist, Oregon, 19:01. 7, Kyle Robinson, Oregon, 19:01. 8, Rhy Reynolds, unattached, 19:09. 9, Chad Kilian, Portland, 19:14. 10, Andy Lafrenz, Portland, 19:22. 11, Simon Kimata, Oregon, 19:37. 12, Paul Laprinzi, Portland State, 19:52. 13, Chris Hollis, Portland State, 19:53. 14, Kyle Boyd, Portland State, 19:54. 15, Scott Ruppel, Portland, 19:55. 16, Ross Krempley, Oregon, 19:59. 17, Brian Murphy, Portland, 20:17. 18, Brandon Wedam, Portland, 20:39. 19, Mike Kebbe, Portland State, 20:50. 20, Cyrus Severance, Portland, 21:07. 21, Brian Bickle, Portland State, 22:26. 22, Mike Koenigs, Portland State, 23:57. 23, Rick White, Portland, DNF.

- -

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder