Arizona Tennis Falls to Defending Champion South Alabama in Third Round of Pool Play

Sept. 29, 2001

Arizona TennisSept. 29, 2001Contact: Darren Moradian and Naomi Marcus

Arizona Tennis Falls to Defending Champion South Alabama in Third Round of Pool Play

Tucson, Ariz. - The Wildcat tennis team lost to the University of South Alabama, 30-16, in the third round of pool play at the World Team Tennis National Collegiate Championships in San Diego, Calif. The Wildcats are now 2-1 at this weekend's championships.

Freshman Wildcat Maja Mlakar fell to South Alabama's Silvia Sosnarova, 6-1, in women's singles. On the men's side, senior Steven Capriati was defeated, 6-4, by Zlatko Stupavsky of USA.

The Arizona women's doubles team of Mlakar and freshman Marie-Pier Pouliot lost to USA's Katarina Pelenikova and Vicki Stoklasova, 6-4. The Wildcats' men's doubles team of Capriati and sophomore Carl Hagman came up short against Stupavsky and Evan Fowler, 6-4, of South Alabama.

The Wildcats' mixed doubles team of Pouliot and Hagman were topped by USA's team of Fowler and Stoklasova, 6-3.

The Wildcats earned a berth in the championships by defeating St. Mary's, 30-16, in last year's regional qualifier.

The team tennis concept, originated by Billie Jean King and Larry King, features squads comprised of at least two men, two women and a coach. Each team match consists of five sets, with one set each of men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, women's doubles and mixed doubles. One point is awarded for each game won. A nine-point tie breaker is played if a set reaches five all. If necessary, overtime and a 'Supertiebreaker' are played to determine the outright winner of the match.

The ITA-administered event is co-hosted by the University of San Diego and San Diego State. Action will take place at the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, Calif. Sixteen teams are scheduled to participate in this year's co-ed event: Alabama, Arizona, BYU, Fresno State, Loyola Marymount, Oklahoma City (NAIA small college champion), Oklahoma State, Princeton, San Diego, San Diego State, South Alabama, SMU, Texas A&M, TCU and Winthrop.

This year's tournament features the past two champions, South Alabama (2000) and Texas A&M (1999).

The scheduled format includes three rounds of pool play to be followed by single elimination semifinal and championship matches.

The Wildcats continue play Saturday, Sept. 29, at 2 p.m. PDT when they face Fresno State in the semifinals to determine fifth place at the championships.


South Alabama 30, Arizona 16 Match Score

WD Katarina Pelenikova/Vicki Stoklasova (USA) d. Maja Mlakar/Mary Pierre Pouliot (UA), 6-4 6-4, USA

MS Zlatko Stupavsky (USA) d. Steven Capriati (UA), 6-4 12-8, USA

MD Stupavsky/Evan Fowler (USA) d. Capriati/Carl Hagman (UA), 6-4 18-12, USA

WS Silvia Sosnarova (USA) d. Mlakar (UA), 6-1 24-13, USA

MX Fowler/Stoklasova (USA) d. Pouliot/Hagman (UA), 6-3 30-16, USA

Records: South Alabama 3-0, Arizona 2-1


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network