Harada, Moilanen Earn Top Honors At Swimming's Season-Opening Oktoberfest Meet

Oct. 6, 2001

SEATTLE - Washington junior Kim Harada (San Lorenzo, Calif.) and senior David Moilanen (Renton, Wash.) earned top honors at the Huskies' annual season-opening Oktoberfest meet Saturday. The meet is an annual intrasquad meet, pitting each individual swimmer against one another in seven separate events at Husky Pool.

Harada defended her title from a year ago, setting two meet records and scoring a meet-low 10 total points. Harada dominated the field, winning six of the seven events, while swimming a pair of meet record times in the 100 (52.12) and 200 free (1:53.42). Sophomore Melody Staubitz (Mesa, Ariz.) won the only other event that Harada did not, placing first in the 100 breaststroke in 1:09.29. Staubitz finished second overall in the women's competition with 31 points, followed by junior Julie Massey (34 pts. - Tacoma, Wash.), freshman Melissa Chandler (43 pts. - Reno, Nev.) and freshman Abby Hutton (51 pts. - Englewood, Colo.).

Moilanen, meanwhile, edged defending champion junior Matt Zielke (Renton, Wash), 25-33, in the men's competition. Moilanen won three events, including the 100 backstroke, the 100 freestyle and the 100 individual medley, while Zielke placed in the top five in five of the seven events. Other event winners included, senior Tim Collins (Vancouver, Wash.) in the 50 free (21.78), sophomore Justin Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.) in the 100 fly (52.69), freshman Jim Wolfe (Hillsboro, Ore.) in the 200 free (1:44.61) and sophomore Luke Ekhoff (Portland, Ore.) in the 100 breaststroke (51.97).

Both Washington swimming teams will be back in action again at Husky Pool next Saturday, Oct. 13, for another intrasqaud showdown, the annual Purple & Gold meet at 10 a.m.

Washington Swimming - Oktoberfest Meet
Husky Pool (October 6, 2001)

Final Places
1. Kim Harada 10 pts.
2. Melody Staubitz 31 pts.
3. Julie Massey 34 pts.
4. Melissa Chandler 43 pts.
5. Abby Hutton 51 pts.

1. David Moilanen 25 pts.
2. Matt Zielke 31 pts.
3. Jim Wolfe 44 pts.
4. Craig Gillis 56 pts.
4. Derek Rose 56 pts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder