Wildcat Men's Tennis Completes Day One of USD Tournament

Oct. 12, 2001

Tucson, Ariz. - The Arizona men's tennis team finished the first day of competition at the University of San Diego All-Collegiate Tournament in San Diego, Calif., on Friday.

The Wildcats had a successful day in Flight 1 of singles in the first round. Sophomore Whi Kim handled Greg Dubourdio of Oregon in two sets, 7-5, 6-1. In a tougher match, senior Bruno Arapovic needed two sets and a tiebreaker to top Johan Daalberg of Oregon, 7-5, 7-6 (3). Sophomore Roeland Bratianu defeated Alex Yaftalit of UC Santa Barbara, 6-3, 4-6, 7-6.

In the second round, the Wildcats split their matches. Arapovic beat Tigran Martirusyan of Loyola Marymount in three sets, 5-7, 6-3, 6-2. Kim breezed by Bryan Swatt of UC San Diego, 6-3, 6-3. Arapovic and Kim will move on to the third round of singles Saturday.

Bratianu fell to Ricardo Rizo of San Diego, who had a first round bye, 6-3, 6-4. Arizona sophomore Carl Hagman, who also had a first round bye, lost to Donte Hayes of UC Irvine, 6-2, 6-2.

In Flight 2 of first-round singles, the Wildcats split their two matches. Freshman Colin O'Grady topped Loyola Marymount's Mike Cameron, 6-2, 6-2, and Arizona's Paul Rosen fell to Jason Menke of Oregon, 6-0, 6-1. In the second round, O'Grady defeated Peter Surapol of UC Irvine, 6-2, 6-3, and advances to the third round of singles Saturday.

The University of San Diego All-Collegiate Tournament features the following teams: Arizona, California Polytechnic, Loyola Marymount, Oregon, San Diego, San Diego State, UC Irvine, UC Santa Barbara and UC San Diego.

Saturday schedule of play is as follows:Flight 1 & 2 Third Round- 8:00 a.m.Flight 1 & 2 Semifinals- 11:00 a.m.Doubles Third Round- 1:30 p.m.Doubles Semifinals- 3:00 p.m.

The Arizona men's tennis team next travels to Tempe, Ariz., Oct. 19-21, for the ASU Thunderbird Collegiate Invitational.

Results-Flight 1First Round:Carl Hagman (BYE)Bruno Arapovic (UA) def. Johan Daalberg (Oregon), 7-5, 7-6 (3)Whi Kim (UA) def. Greg Dubourdio (Oregon), 7-5, 6-1Roeland Bratianu (UA) def. Alex Yaftali (UCSB), 6-3, 4-6, 7-6

Second Round:Bruno Arapovic (UA) def. Tigran Martirusyan (LMU), 5-7, 6-3, 6-2Donte Hayes (UCI) def. Carl Hagman (UA), 6-2, 6-2Whi Kim (UA) def. Bryan Swatt (UCSD), 6-3, 6-3Ricardo Rizo (USD) def. Roeland Bratianu, 6-3, 6-4

Flight 2First Round:Jason Menke (Oregon) def. Paul Rosen (UA), 6-0, 6-1Colin O'Grady (UA) def. Mike Cameron (LMU), 6-2, 6-2

Second Round:Colin O'Grady (UA) def. Peter Surapol (UCI), 6-2, 6-3


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder