Schott Added To Hermann Trophy Nominee List

Oct. 17, 2001

BERKELEY - California All-American Laura Schott was added to the Hermann Trophy ballot for the 2001 season. The Hermann Trophy is one of two national player of the year awards in college soccer.

'I didn't expect to be nominated, but I thought it would be cool if I did,' said Schott. 'It's unbelievable. It's one of the best if not the best honor I've received.'

'The addition of Laura to the Hermann Trophy candidates is well deserved,' said Cal coach Kevin Boyd. 'Laura has 12 goals in 13 games, and she draws the attention of every team we play. That shows the caliber of athlete that she is. She has made great contributions to our program and has helped elevate Cal to national prominence.'

A panel of Division I college coaches added two men and two women to the lists of 13 men's and women's candidates that were announced prior to the 2001 season. Virginia's Lori Lindsey was the other female athlete added. At the beginning of the season, two places were left open for players who might otherwise have been left off the original ballot. This was done to ensure that any deserving player was eligible to win the award.

Schott has proven herself deserving by helping lead No. 12 California to a 10-2-1 record and its sixth-straight season with 10 or more victories. The junior forward from Wilsonville, Ore., leads the Pac-10 Conference for the second-consecutive year with 27 points and 12 goals. She ranks 10th nationally with 0.92 goals/game.

Schott is the Golden Bears' most prolific scorer since U.S. national team member and two-time collegiate player of the year Joy Fawcett led Cal to two NCAA semifinal appearances in 1987 and 1988. Schott ranks second to Fawcett in school history for goals (46, Fawcett 55) and points (104, Fawcett 133).

The winners of the 2001 Hermann Trophy will be announced at the College Cups, the women on Dec. 8 in Dallas, Texas, and the men on Dec. 15 in Columbus, Ohio.

The other 13 women's candidates include Santa Clara's Danielle Slaton and Aly Wagner, Penn State's Christie Welsh, Florida's Abby Wambach, BYU's Aleisha Cramer, UCLA's Mary-Frances Monroe and Stephanie Rigamat, Portland's Lauren Orlandos, North Carolina's Danielle Borgman and Jena Kluegel, Nebraska's Christine Latham, Washington's Hope Solo and Texas A&M's Nicky Thrasher.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder