Two Pac-10 Players Grace Naismith Watch List (10/17/01)

Oct. 17, 2001

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Two Pac-10 women's basketball players -- Oregon's Shaquala Williams and Stanford's Nicole Powell -- are on the preseason watch list for the Naismith Player of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

Williams, the Pac-10 Player of the Year in 2000, sat out last season after tearing the ACL in her left knee one year ago. She averaged 17.7 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.3 assists during her outstanding sophomore campaign. Powell, the 2001 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and a First-Team All-Pac-10 selection, averaged 14.1 points, 8.5 rebounds and 4.7 assists in her freshman campaign. She became the first rookie and Stanford player to lead the league in rebounding.

Powell helped guide Stanford (19-11, 12-6 Pac-10) to its 10th Pac-10 title and a Second Round NCAA Tournament appearance last season. The Cardinal open the season Nov. 7 with an exhibition against Hungary. Oregon (17-12, 10-8 Pac-10), which made its eighth straight NCAA Tournament appearance last year, opens the season Nov. 2 with an exhibition at McArthur Court against the Basketball Travelers.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts.

The women's Naismith Award, first presented in 1983 to Anne Donovan of OldDominion, includes recipients such as three-time winner Cheryl Miller of USC, two-time honorees Clarissa Davis of Texas, Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee and Dawn Staley of Virginia.

The preseason women's candidates for the Naismith Awards, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Alana Beard, Duke
Lucienne Berthieu, Old Dominion
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Swin Cash, Connecticut
LaNeishea Caufield, Oklahoma
Danielle Crockrom, Baylor
Stacey Dales, Oklahoma
Chrissy Floyd, Clemson
Catrina Frierson, Louisiana Tech
Deanna Jackson, UAB
Gwen Jackson, Tennessee
Sheila Lambert, Baylor
Kara Lawson, Tennessee
Takeisha Lewis, Louisiana Tech
Brandi McCain, Florida
Tawana McDonald, Georgia
Plenette Pierson, Texas Tech
Nicole Powell, STANFORD
Alicia Ratay, Notre Dame
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
Nikki Teasley, North Carolina
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Ayana Walker, Louisiana Tech
Angie Welle, Iowa State
Tamika Williams, Connecticut
Shaquala Williams, OREGON
Shereka Wright, Purdue
DeTrina White, LSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder