Williams Picked Preseason Naismith Award Candidate

Oct. 17, 2001

ATLANTA, Ga. - University of Oregon women's basketball player Shaquala Williams is on the preseason watch list for the Naismith Player of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

Williams, the Pac-10 Player of the Year in 2000, sat out last season after tearing the ACL in her left knee one year ago. She averaged 17.7 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.3 assists during her outstanding sophomore campaign.

Oregon (17-12, 10-8 Pac-10) opens the season Nov. 2 with an exhibition at McArthur Court against the Basketball Travelers.

Sue Bird (Connecticut), Chantelle Anderson (Vanderbilt) and LaToya Thomas (Mississippi State) round out the top-three candidates for women. Stanford's Nicole Powell is the only other Pac-10 player on the list.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts.

The women's Naismith Award, first presented in 1983 to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion, includes recipients such as three-time winner Cheryl Miller of USC, two-time honorees Clarissa Davis of Texas, Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee and Dawn Staley of Virginia.

The preseason women's candidates for the Naismith Awards, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Female Candidates
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Alana Beard, Duke
Lucienne Berthieu, Old Dominion
Sue Bird, Connecticut
Swin Cash, Connecticut
LaNeishea Caufield, Oklahoma
Danielle Crockrom, Baylor
Stacey Dales, Oklahoma
Chrissy Floyd, Clemson
Catrina Frierson, Louisiana Tech
Deanna Jackson, UAB
Gwen Jackson, Tennessee
Sheila Lambert, Baylor
Kara Lawson, Tennessee
Takeisha Lewis, Louisiana Tech
Brandi McCain, Florida
Tawana McDonald, Georgia
Plenette Pierson, Texas Tech
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Alicia Ratay, Notre Dame
Michelle Snow, Tennessee
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
Nikki Teasley, North Carolina
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Ayana Walker, Louisiana Tech
Angie Welle, Iowa State
Tamika Williams, Connecticut
Shaquala Williams, Oregon
Shereka Wright, Purdue
DeTrina White, LSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network