Casey Jacobsen - A Leading Candidate for Naismith Player of the Year

Oct. 18, 2001

Atlanta, Ga - Casey Jacobsen of Stanford University and Jason Williams of Duke University head the list of pre-season candidates for the 2001-02 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award.

Jacobsen was second in a pre-season vote of the Naismith Board of Directors of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts. Jacobsen was Stanford's leading scorer last year at 18.3 ppg, and was named to six All-America teams. Williams, a junior guard, helped lead Duke to the NCAA title last year with a single-season scoring record 841 points.

Jacobsen is one of three Pac-10 players on the 30-man pre-season Naismith list. The conference players were Sam Clancy of USC and UCLA's Jason Kapono.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

Last year, Duke's Shane Battier won the Naismith Player of the Year award. The first recipient of the Naismith Award was Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) of UCLA in 1969. Other college player of the year recipients include many NBA all-time greats including Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan and Patrick Ewing.

Naismith Player of the Year Candidates
Casey Jacobsen - Stanford
Lonny Baxter - Maryland
Troy Bell - Boston College
LaVell Blanchard - Michigan
Keith Bogans - Kentucky
Carlos Boozer - Duke
Caron Butler - Connecticut
Nick Collison - Kansas
Sam Clancy - USC
Juan Dixon - Maryland
Chris Duhon - Duke
Mike Dunleavy - Duke
Melvin Ely - Fresno State
Reggie Evans - Iowa
Drew Gooden - Kansas
Lynn Greer - Temple
Udonis Haslem - Florida
Jared Jeffries - Indiana
Jason Kapono - UCLA
Chris Marcus - Western Kentucky
Brett Nelson - Florida
Marvin O'Conner - St. Joseph's
Chris Owens - Texas
Tayshawn Prince - Kentucky
Luke Recker - Iowa
Darius Rice - Miami (Fla)
Kareem Rush - Missouri
David West - Xavier
Frank Williams - Illinois
Jason Williams - Duke

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder