Ten Former Bruins To Vie For MLS Title

Oct. 18, 2001

Ten former UCLA men's soccer players will play for the Major League Soccer (MLS) championship when the Los Angeles Galaxy and San Jose Earthquakes meet in the MLS Cup on Sunday, Oct. 21 in Columbus, Ohio.

Eight former Bruins are key members of the Galaxy team. Paul Caligiuri (1982-86), Adam Frye (1992-95), Kevin Hartman (1995-96), Cobi Jones (1988-91), Pete Vagenas (1996-99), Greg Vanney (1993-95), Sasha Victorine (1996-99) comprise nearly two-thirds of the starting lineup, while Matt Reis (1994-97) is the backup goalkeeper who started 15 games this season. The Galaxy is coached by former UCLA head coach Sigi Schmid (1980-98). Two ex-Bruins are regulars for the Earthquakes - defenders Jimmy Conrad (1996-97) and Zak Ibsen (1990-92).

This is the Galaxy's third appearance in the MLS Championship game. San Jose is making its first.

The game will be televised live at 9:30 am PT by ABC.

The Galaxy has a chance to capture two titles in one week, as it hosts the New England Revolution in the championship match of the 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup on Saturday, Oct. 27 at Cal State Fullerton's Titan Stadium. The match will be broadcast live at 2:00 pm PT on Fox Sports World. Ticket prices range from $15-$30 and are available through the Cal State Fullerton Athletic Department at 714-CSU-CSUF.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder