Thomas and Nece Named Butkus Semi-Finalists

Oct. 18, 2001

The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc.(DACO) has announced the 12 semi-finalists for thisyear's Butkus Award�, which is awarded annually to thebest linebacker in college football. There was athree-way tie for 10th place. This is the second timein three years that there have been more than 10semi-finalists. The Butkus Award� has been presentedsince 1985.

The list was determined by confidential balloting ofthe 29-member Butkus Award� Selection Committee,comprised of the nation's foremost media members. TheSelection Committee made their selections from theinitial Butkus Award� Watch List of 69 collegelinebackers, which was announced back on August 23,2001.

On Thursday, November 15, 2001, DACO will announce thethree finalists for this year's Butkus Award� at anational teleconference from the Downtown MarriottOrlando. The three Butkus Award� finalists and theircoaches will participate in the announcement. The2001 Butkus Award� winner will be announced at theButkus Award� Presentation Ceremony on Friday,December 7, 2001 by the award's namesake Dick Butkus.

The 12 semi-finalists (in alphabetical order) for the2001 Butkus Award� are:

1. Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
2. Andra Davis, Florida
3. Kalimba Edwards, South Carolina
4. Trev Faulk, LSU
5. LeVar Fisher, NC State
6. Larry Foote, Michigan
7. E.J. Henderson, Maryland
8. D.D. Lewis, Texas
9. Ryan Nece, UCLA
10. Ben Taylor, Virginia Tech
11. Robert Thomas, UCLA
12. Josh Thornhill, Michigan State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder