Conrad, Ibsen Win MLS Title With San Jose Earthquakes

Oct. 21, 2001

Columbus, Ohio - Former UCLA men's soccer players Jimmy Conrad (1996-97) and Zak Ibsen (1990-92) helped the San Jose Earthquakes win the Major League Soccer (MLS) Championship, as San Jose defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy, 2-1 in overtime.

Conrad, who started and played all 96 minutes, and Ibsen, who entered the game in the 82nd minute, were on the field when Dwayne DeRosario scored the golden goal to give San Jose its first-ever MLS Championship.

The victory came at the expense of eight former UCLA players who are on the Galaxy roster. Seven of those Bruins played in the game - starters Kevin Hartman (1995-96), Greg Vanney (1993-95), Paul Caligiuri (1982-86), Pete Vagenas (1996-99), Cobi Jones (1988-91) and Sasha Victorine (1996-99), and reserve Adam Frye (1992-95). The eighth ex-Bruin on the Galaxy squad, backup goalkeeper Matt Reis (1994-97), did not play.

Hartman and Vanney combined to set up the Galaxy's lone goal in the first half, assisting on Luis Hernandez' 21st minute goal.

At least one UCLA player has been a part of three of the last four MLS Championship teams. Current UCLA assistant coach Jorge Salcedo (1990-93), Josh Keller (1994-97) and Ante Razov (1992-95) were part of the 1998 MLS Cup champion Chicago Fire, and Tahj Jakins (1993-96) played on the winning Kansas City Star team in 2000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network