Arizona State Hosts Pac-10 Cross Country Championships

Oct. 22, 2001

The Events
The 2001 Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships will be hosted by Arizona State University at the Pavilion Lakes Golf Course in Scottsdale, Ariz. The 33rd-annual men's race (8 teams) will begin at 10 a.m., followed by the 16th-annual women's race (9 teams) at 11 a.m. An award's ceremony will be held near the finish line at 11:45 a.m. A combined open race for both men and women will kick off the event at 8:30 a.m.

The Course
The men will run over an 8,000-meter course, while the women will compete on a 6,000-meter circuit. This championship event marks the first time a cross country meet has been held at the Pavilion Lakes Golf Course, therefore no course records have been established. Both course terrains are mainly flat and include grass, as well as small patches of dirt and light gravel.

Meet Scoring
Teams win by having the lowest point total, based on the places of its top five runners added together. The squad size is seven, with each team's sixth and seventh finishers displacing potential scorers from other teams.

Meet results will be posted on ASU's website, following the championships.

Directions to the Course
From the North 101 Loop, exit Indian Bend Road (exit 44). Turn left on Indian Bend, heading west and driving past Pavilions shopping mall. Turn right at Pima Road, then turn right at the driveway with a United Artists sign. The golf course will be on your left after passing Fiddlesticks. The course is approximately 11 miles from the ASU campus.

Next Year's Pac-10 Championships
Traditionally held at Stanford until three years ago, the Pac-10 Championships were hosted by Oregon in 1998, USC in 1999 and Washington in 2000. They are now rotated among the nine participating institutions. Next year, UCLA will host the meet, followed by Washington State (2003), California (2004), Arizona (2005) and Stanford (2006).

Last Year
Stanford swept both the men's and women's team titles at the 2000 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships hosted by the University of Washington at Lincoln Park in Seattle, Wash., Oct. 28. The second-ranked Cardinal women, who tallied 51 points, captured their unprecedented fifth-straight conference crown and seventh in the last eight years. Stanford was led by Lauren Fleshman (third, 20:34.85) and Victoria Chang (fifth, 20:45.01). Fourth-ranked Arizona State earned its second-straight runner-up honors with 67 points, bolstered by Lisa Aguilera (second, 20:19.95) and Mary Duerbeck (seventh, 20:47.31). Individual champion Tara Chaplin, who set a course record with a winning time of 20:10.67, helped eighth-ranked Arizona to a third-place team finish with 79 points. Washington's Camissa Matson (20:42.08) finished fourth. Stanford's men, ranked third in the nation, dominated the 32nd edition of the conference championships with 21 points, placing three runners in the top four including individual winner Jonathon Riley, who also set a course record in 23:39.59. Louis Luchini finished third (23:49.53) and Grant Robison fourth (23:50.17). Oregon's 13th-ranked men earned runner-up honors with 66 points, followed by No. 10 Arizona with 70 points. The Ducks' Jason Hartmann placed second (23:47.37) and Wildcat Tom Prindiville took fifth (23:50.17), rounding out the top five individuals.

Previous Pac-10 Winners
Dating back to 1969, Oregon has captured 13 of 32 men's titles, and five of the last 13, while Arizona has won seven crowns, all in the last 17 seasons. In recent years, Stanford has dominated the men's team race, winning five total titles and four in the last five seasons. Oregon's Steve Prefontaine and Washington State's Henry Rono, two legends of distance running, each won this event three times. Since 1986, both Oregon and Stanford have claimed seven Pac-10 women's crowns, with the Cardinal winning the last five straight and seven of the last eight. Prior to 1996, the Ducks had claimed seven of the first 10 conference titles. The only team other than Oregon or Stanford that won a women's title was Washington in 1989. Arizona's Amy Skieresz won four Pac-10 titles, while Karen Hecox of UCLA and Liz Wilson of Oregon each won the individual crown twice.

NCAA Regionals
The NCAA West Regional will be contested at the Dell Urich Golf Course in Tucson, Ariz., Sat., Nov. 10, and will determine the West Region's team and individual automatic qualifiers for the NCAA Championships. The men's race will be held at 9:45 a.m., followed by the women's race at 10:30 a.m.

NCAA Championships
The NCAA Division I Championships (63rd annual for the men, 21st for the women) will by hosted by Furman University, Monday, Nov. 19, at the Furman Golf Course in Greenville, S.C.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder