Pac-10 Cross Country Championships Preview (10/22/01)

Oct. 22, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Arizona State University to Serve as Host for the Championships

MEN'S RACE (33rd annual) . . . With five teams ranked in the MONDO Top-25 (Oct. 16) - No. 2 STANFORD, No. 13 ARIZONA, No. 19 ARIZONA STATE, No. 20 OREGON and No. 24 WASHINGTON, the Pac-10 Championships should be a hotly-contested event. Stanford has won four of the last five championships and should be the early favorite. The Cardinal have won its first four meets of the season behind strong performances from freshman Ryan Hall, and sophomores Grant Robison, Ian Dobson and Louis Luchini. Arizona will compete with a balanced pack of veteran runners that include seniors Mike Cramer, Tom Prindiville and Steve Smith. Host Arizona State will look for its first Pac-10 title behind junior Fasil Bizuneh and sophomore Juan Reyes. Oregon junior Jason Hartmann should give the Ducks a shot at a top finish. Hartmann's the top returning Pac-10 finisher after placing second in last year's meet. Senior Jason Fayant and sophomore Dustin Duke have emerged as Washington's pacesetters. WASHINGTON STATE also received votes in the MONDO Top-25 poll and will be led by sophomore Ian Johnson. Johnson has been the Cougars top finisher in each of their four meets this season. . . Others to watch include CALIFORNIA senior Nick Martin and UCLA senior Bryan Green.

WOMEN'S RACE (16th annual) . . . Like the men, five Pac-10 women's teams grace the latest FinishLynx Top-25 (Oct. 15). Defending Pac-10 champion STANFORD sits atop the poll at No. 1, followed by No. 7 ARIZONA STATE, No. 11 ARIZONA, No. 13 WASHINGTON and No. 22 UCLA. The Cardinal look for their sixth consecutive title, and eighth in nine years, behind junior Lauren Fleshman, and four talented freshmen that include Sara Bei and Alicia Craig. Fleshman finished 3rd at last year's Pac-10 meet. Arizona State has put together its finest squad behind seniors Lisa Aguilera and Kelly MacDonald. Arizona senior Tara Chaplin looks to defend her individual title. An Arizona runner has captured top honors in five of the last six Pac-10 Championship races. Youth will guide the Huskies as four freshmen are among Washington's top seven runners, including Lisa Gibbs. Washington senior Sabrina Monro heads into the Pac-10's with four consecutive individual titles this season. Monro, a transfer from Montana, finished second at last year's NCAA Championships. UCLA, like the Huskies, will feature four freshmen among its top seven runners. Freshman Alejandro Barrientos has been the Bruins top finisher in each meet this season. . . Others to keep an eye on include CALIFORNIA junior Lina Biber-Ferro, OREGON junior Carrie Zografos, USC senior Sarah Ellis and WASHINGTON STATE junior Everlyne Lagat.

THE COURSE . . . The men's course will cover 8,000 meters at the Pavilion Lakes Golf Club, Scottsdale, Ariz. The women, meanwhile, will run a course of 6,000 meters. The terrain for both the men's course and women's course will be mainly flat and include mostly grass, as well as small patches of dirt and light gravel.

Pacific-10 Cross Country Championships

When: Saturday, October 27, 2001

Where: Pavilion Lakes Golf Club, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Race Times: Men - 10:00 a.m., Women - 11:00 a.m.

LAST YEAR . . . In the men's race, STANFORD captured its fourth Pac-10 title in five years with an impressive 45-point margin of victory as the Cardinal placed their five scoring runners among the top seven finishers. Stanford senior Jonathon Riley, the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, claimed individual honors with a clocking of 23:39.50 over the Lincoln Park course in Seattle, Wash. He also captured top honors at the NCAA West Regionals and was the Pac-10's top finisher at the NCAA Championships with a 10th place showing.

Stanford won its fifth consecutive Pac-10 women's title and seventh Championship in the last eight years with a narrow 16-point margin of victory over ARIZONA STATE. The Cardinal also went on to lead all Pac-10 teams at the NCAA Championships with a third-place finish. ARIZONA junior Tara Chaplin took home individual honors as she covered the Lincoln Park course in 20:10.60. It was the fifth time in the last six Championship races that an Arizona runner has crossed the line first. Arizona State junior Lisa Aguilera, the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, finished second to Chaplin, then proceeded to place fifth (the highest finish by a Pac-10 athlete) at the NCAA Championships.


MEN - Team Results
1. Stanford 21
2. Oregon 66
3. Arizona 70
4. Arizona State 114
5. Washington 117
6. UCLA 142
7. Washington State 190
8. California 195
9. California 254

WOMEN - Team Results
1. Stanford 51
2. Arizona State 67
3. Arizona 79
4. Washington 83
5. Washington State 124
6. UCLA 134
7. Oregon 140
8. USC 226

MEN - Top-5 Individuals
1. Jonathon Riley, STAN 23:39.50
2. Jason Hartmann, ORE 23:47.30
3. Louis Luchini, STAN 23:49.50
4. Grant Robison, STAN 23:50.10
5. Tom Prindiville, ARIZ 23:50.40

WOMEN Top-5 Individuals
1. Tara Chaplin, ARIZ 20:10.60
2. Lisa Aguilera, ASU 20:19.90
3. Lauren Fleshman, STAN 20:34.80
4. Camissa Matson, WASH 20:42.00
5. Victoria Chang, STAN 24:45.00

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE? . . . Tucson, Ariz., will be the site of the NCAA West Regional Championships Saturday, Nov. 10, while the NCAA Championships will be Monday, Nov. 19 in Greenville, N.C.

NEXT YEAR . . . UCLA will host the 2002 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships.

2001 PAC-10 CROSS COUNTRY CHAMPIONSHIPS RESULTS . . . Following the championships, final results for the men's and women's races will be available on the Arizona State University web site ( and the Pac-10 web site (

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder