Men's Tennis Competes at Omni Hotels Region-VIII Championships

Oct. 25, 2001

Malibu, Calif. -A number of the region's top collegiate men's tennis players will converge at the Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center on the Pepperdine campus this weekend to compete in the Omni Hotels ITA Region VIII-South Championships.

The four-day tournament begins Thursday (October 25) morning and continues through the championship matches on Sunday (October 28) afternoon.

A limited number of qualifying round singles and doubles matches will be contested Wednesday (October 24), with the winners advancing to the main draw.

The tournament includes a 64-player singles and 32-team doubles draw and features players from 11 schools--Arizona, Arizona State, Cal Poly, Loyola Marymount, Pepperdine, San Diego, UC Irvine, UCLA, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara and USC.

A consolation tournament will be conducted for the first- and second-round losers in singles.

Daily results will be posted on the Pepperdine athletics website

Pepperdine senior Al Garland has earned the No. 1 singles seed. Garland, ranked No. 4 nationally in the preseason ITA singles poll, was a semifinalist at last year's NCAA Championships.

Jean-Julien Rojer of UCLA, ranked No. 7 by the ITA, is the No. 2 seed. USC's Andrew Park is the No. 3 seed and ranked No. 8 nationally.

In doubles, Marcin Matkowski and Rojer of UCLA are the top seed. The Bruin tandem, ranked No. 18 nationally in the preseason ITA listing, won the doubles title at the All-American Championships earlier this month.

Pepperdine's Sebastien Graeff and Stefan Suter, ranked No. 3 in the preseason poll, are the No. 2 seed.

The tournaments will be using the experimental 'collegiate game scoring' format which is summarized as a game scoring method similar to no-ad scoring but considered more traditional. The collegiate game scoring format allows one deuce if the score goes to 3-3 (40-40). The game is won by reaching four points with at least a margin of two points (4-0,4-1 or 4-2) or a score of either 5-3 or 5-4. All doubles matches will utilize the eight-game pro set format.

The championship matches on Sunday are scheduled to begin at1 p.m., and they will be proceeded by a free clinic for junior-level players starting at 11:30 a.m.

The singles finalists and doubles champions from each of the Omni Hotels Regional Championships will advance to the 2001 Omni Hotels ITA National Intercollegiate Indoors Championships scheduled for November 8-11 at the Brookhaven Country Club in Farmers Branch, Texas, near Dallas.

Please find a complete tournament schedule:

Thursday, October 25 --Round of 64 singles, 8:30 a.m. and 10 a.m.Round of 32 singles main draw and consolation, Noon and 1:30 p.m.Round of 32 doubles, 3:30 p.m.

Friday, October 26 --Round of 32 consolation, 8:30 a.m.Round of 16 main draw and consolation, 10:00 a.m.Round of 16 doubles, 1 p.m.Quarterfinal round of doubles, 3 p.m.

Saturday, October 27 --Quarterfinal round of singles main draw and consolation, 9 a.m.Semifinal round of singles main draw and consolation, 12:30 p.m.Semifinal round of doubles, 4 p.m.

Sunday, October 28 --Singles championship, 1 p.m.Doubles championship, TBASingles consolation championship, TBA

Please find a complete listing of the tournament seeds:

Singles --1. Al Garland / Pepperdine2. Jean-Julien Rojer / UCLA3. Andrew Park / USC4. Stefan Suter / Pepperdine5. Erfan Djahangiri / UCLA6. Tobias Clemens / UCLA7. Steven Capriati / Arizona8. Damien Spizzo / USC(9-16 Alphabetical)9. Mirza Duranovic / Arizona State10. Daniel Langre / USC11. Carl Hagman / Arizona12. Calle Hansen / Pepperdine13. Lassi Ketola / UCLA14. Marcin Matkowski / UCLA15. Steve Racioppi / Pepperdine16. Ricardo Rizo / San Diego

Doubles --1. Marcin Matkowski - Jean-Julien Rojer / UCLA2. Sebastien Graeff - Stefan Suter / Pepperdine3. Steven Capriati - Carl Hagman / Arizona4. Erfan Djahangiri - Lassi Ketola / UCLA5. Al Garland - Calle Hansen / Pepperdine6. Daniel Langre - Damien Spizzo / USC7. Prakash Amritraj - Andrew Park / USC8. Juan Cerda - Jason Pongsrikul / San Diego

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network