Women's Swimming, Diving Defeats Texas

Oct. 27, 2001

LOS ANGELES - Led by three wins by junior Michala Kwasny, the USC women's swimming and diving team won its dual-meet opener, defeating Texas, 164-135, on Saturday (Oct. 26) at USC's McDonald's Swim Stadium.

On the men's side, the USC-Texas and Texas-Cal dual meets begun on Friday were completed on Saturday with the diving competition. No USC divers competed due to injuries, allowing Texas to sweep the diving points in both the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard, giving the Longhorns 32 points and a 161-151 win. Texas' final score against Cal was 162-148.

In the women's meet, Kwasny was spectacular. She posted the only NCAA Championship automatic time of the day when she swam a 1:58.25 in the 200y butterfly. Her winning time in the 200y IM of 2:01.05 was just one hundredth of a second from an automatic time as well. She completed the hat track with a win in the 200y breaststroke in 2:16.03 (NCAA B cut).

The only other swimmer on either team to win more than one event was USC senior Katie Meyer. Meyer won the 100y back in 55.75 and the 200y back in 2:01.93, both NCAA B cuts.

Other USC winners included junior Jennifer Parmenter in the 200y free (1:49.70, NCAA B), senior Kristin MacGregor in the 100y breast (1:03.07, NCAA B) and junior Asa Sandlund in the 1000y free (10:11.43).

Sophomore Nicci Fusaro and freshman Blythe Hartley swept the diving events. Fusaro won the 3-meter with 316.20 while Hartley won the 1-meter with 292.43. Fusaro was second in the 1-meter and Hartley was second in the 3-meter.

Sophomore Jana Krohn posted a pair of NCAA B cut times, swimming to second in the 200y fly (1:58.25) and fourth in the 100y fly (55.37). Sandlund had a B cut with her second-place swim in the 500y free (4:50.99).

Texas winners included senior Lauren Thies (500y free, 4:50.59), junior Erin Phenix (50y free, 23.60), freshman Sarah Wanazek (100y free, 50.96) and junior Joscelin Yeo (100y fly, 54.98).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder