John Naber Named NCAA Silver Anniversary Winner

Nov. 1, 2001

John Naber, a 10-time individual NCAA title winner at USC and a four-time Olympic gold medallist, was one of six NCAA Silver Anniversary Award recipients the NCAA Honors Committee announced on Thursday (Nov. 1). The Silver Anniversary Award recognizes former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves since completing their college athletics career 25 years ago.

In addition to Naber, the NCAA also tabbed Richard C. Chapman (Augustana College), Maurice 'Bo' Ellis (Marquette), Herman R. Frazier (Arizona State), Betsy King (Furman) and Rodney E. Slater (Eastern Michigan).

The recipients are scheduled to be honored on Jan. 13 at the Honors Dinner during the annual NCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

As a student at USC, Naber led the Trojans to four consecutive NCAA Championships from 1974-1977. In addition to his 10 individual titles, he also swam on five first-place relay wins. After his senior year in 1977, he won the James E. Sullivan Award as the nation's Amateur Athlete of the Year.

Since 1982, he has operated Naber and Associates, which provides motivational speakers, sports-related marketing and consultations for corporations interested in using athletes for promotions. He's had an extensive career as a broadcaster, working seven different Olympics and has announced for NBC, CBS and ABC.

Naber is president of the United States Olympic Alumni Association, and he served as a torchbearer in the Olympic Torch Relay in 1984 and 1996. He will do so again in 2002.

He has worked for the Children's Miracle Network and is an active fund-raiser for the United States Olympic Committee and his alma mater.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder