Pac-10 Basketball Hall of Honor to Induct Inaugural Class (10/31/01)

Oct. 31, 2001

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES--The Pac-10 Conference will honor 10 former coaches and student-athletes with their induction into the Pac-10 Hall of Honor during the 2002 Pac-10 Tournament Pac-10 Properties vice president/general manager John Kasser announced today.

Those individuals to be inducted include, Sean Elliott (Arizona), Byron Scott (Arizona State), Pete Newell (California), John Dick (Oregon), Gary Payton (Oregon State), Hank Luisetti (Stanford), John Wooden (UCLA), Bill Sharman (USC), Bob Houbregs (Washington) and Craig Ehlo (Washington State).

Sean Elliott is Arizona's all-time scoring leader with 2,555 points and became the schools first two-time first-team All-American in 1988 and 1989. During his senior season, he was honored with the Wooden Award as college basketball's Player of the Year. Elliott was the third overall pick in the 1989 NBA draft by the San Antonio Spurs and was a member of that club's 1999 NBA Championship team.

Byron Scott was an All-Pac-10 guard for Arizona State, leading the Sun Devils in scoring during the 1981 and 1983 seasons. He was the fourth overall pick by San Diego in the 1983 NBA draft and played 14 seasons in the NBA, winning three NBA titles with the Los Angeles Lakers (1985, '87, '88). He currently is the coach of the New Jersey Nets.

Pete Newell produced a career coaching record of 234-123 as he directed University of San Francisco to the NIT title in 1949 and California to the NCAA title in 1959. In 1960, he guided the Golden Bears to their second consecutive championship game. He was named the national Coach of the Year that season and then guided Team USA to the gold medal in the 1960 Olympic Games. His California record stands at 119-44.

John Dick is the lone surviving member of the Oregon Ducks' 1939 national championship team. Known as the 'Tall Firs,' Oregon defeated Ohio State 46-33 behind Dick's team-leading 13 points in the very first NCAA Championship game in Evanston, Ill. Of the approximately 5,500 people in attendance was one Dr. James Naismith, it would be the only NCAA Championship game ever witnessed by the inventor of the game as he passed away later in 1939.

Known simply as 'The Glove,' Oregon State's Gary Payton was a defensive wizard for the Beavers. Payton, Sports Illustrated's 1990 College Player of the Year, owns Pac-10 career records with 321 steals and 938 assists. He also ranks sixth in the Pac-10 and is OSU's all-time leading scorer with 2,172 points. Payton was the second overall pick by the Seattle Supersonics in the 1990 NBA draft and the All-Star guard is entering his 12th season in the NBA.

A three-time All-American and two-time College Player of the Year, Stanford's Hank Luisetti revolutionized the game with his one -handed shot during the 1930's. Luisetti is a member of the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame and the Citizens Savings Foundation Basketball Hall of Fame. He's the owner of the oldest school record in Stanford basketball history, as he tossed in a school-best 50 points in 92-27 victory over Duquesne (Jan. 1, 1938).

The legendary John Wooden spent 27 years as coach of the UCLA Bruins, piling up an overall record of 620-147 (.808) and a conference mark of 316-68 (.823). He guided the Bruins to an unprecedented 10 NCAA championships, including seven consecutive (1966-73). Wooden coached the Bruins to 17, 20+ game winning seasons, including four perfect 30-0 campaigns. During his 27 years, he produced 24 first-team All-Americans and 11 Academic All-Americans. Wooden is the first individual in the history of the Basketball Hall of Fame to be inducted as both a player (1960) and coach (1972). Since retiring after the 1974-75 season, Wooden's numerous honors have included - NCAA Theodore Roosevelt Sportsman Award (1995), ESPN Greatest Coach of the 20th Century (1999) and Naismith Men's College Coach of the 20th Century (2000).

Bill Sharman, an All-American selection at USC in 1950, played 11 years in the NBA, winning four NBA championships with the Boston Celtics. His right-handed push shot, with the ball held at eye level compared to starting at the waist, was responsible not only for his free throw accuracy but for his accuracy all over the court. Sharman never shot worse than .800 from the free throw line in any NBA season. He was named to the All-NBA Team seven times in 10 years and played in eight All-Star games. Sharman also invented the shoot-around, the game-day workout now standard in basketball.

Bob Houbregs was a consensus All-American in 1953 and honored as the Helm's Athletic Foundation's NCAA Player of the Year. His 1,774 career points stood as a Washington record for 34 years and still ranks second all-time. The 846 points scored during his senior season in 1953 still ranks as the school's best single-season mark and the third best single-season total in Pac-10 history. Houbregs led the Huskies to the 1953 NCAA national semi-final before losing to Kansas 79-53. Washington finished third that year by virtue of an 88-69 triumph over Louisiana State in the Final Four's consolation game.

Craig Ehlo lettered at Washington State from 1981-83. He led the Cougars to their last NCAA Tournament victory, scoring 18 points in a 62-52 win over Weber State in 1983. Ehlo paced the Cougars that season with 136 assists in Pac-10 play, a school record that still stands today. He was drafted in the third round of the NBA draft by the Houston Rockets and was a member of 11 NBA playoff teams during a 14-year NBA career.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network