McElrath Among 11 Semi-finalists For Biletnikoff Award

Nov. 7, 2001

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. --- The Tallahassee Quarterback Club named Washington State senior wide receiver Nakoa McElrath one of 11 semi-finalists for the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation's top receiver, Wednesday.

McElrath emerged from the shadows of big-play receivers Milton Wynn and Marcus Williams in 2001 to catch 60 passes for 936 yards and eight touchdowns through nine games. The junior college transfer is just seven shy of Mike Levenseller's school record 67 receptions, and 215 yards short of Tim Stallworth's school record 1151 yards in 1988. Levenseller is the offensive coordinator for Washington State's Pac-10 leading offense.

Joining McElrath on the list of semi-finalists were Jabar Gaffney and Reche Caldwell of Florida, Kelly Campbell of Georgia Tech, Kevin Curtis of Utah State, Lee Evans of Wisconsin, Ashley Lelie of Hawaii, Marquise Walker of Michigan, Kelley Washington of Tennessee, Darius Watts of Marshall, and Josh Reed of Louisiana State.

The La Jolla, Calif., native is one of four Cougar postseason awards candidates. Junior quarterback Jason Gesser is up for the Davey O'Brien Award, senior free safety Lamont Thompson is a semi-finalist for the Thorpe Award, and kicker Drew Dunning is a Lou Groza Award hopeful.

The winner of all four awards will be announced Dec. 6 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show live on ESPN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder