Everlyne Lagat Grabs Fifth Place At NCAA West Regional Meet

Nov. 10, 2001

TUCSON, Ariz.-- Cougar junior Everlyne Lagat placed fifth overall to lead the Washington State women's cross country team to a sixth-place finish at the 2001 NCAA West Regional Championships, Saturday. For WSU's men, senior Oscar Franco-Parra ran a strong race to grab 16th individually and help lead his team to eighth place overall.

Lagat, a transfer from Malone College in Ohio, has been the Cougars' top finisher in every meet this year, including the best finish by a Cougar woman at the Pac-10 Championships since 1992 in fourth place. The younger sister of former WSU standout and Olympic gold medallist Bernard Lagat has earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships as one of the region's top four finishers that is not on a team earning an automatic berth. Anna Blue also ran a strong race for the Cougars to take 22nd individually. Also running well for Washington State are Ryan Gilmore in 52nd, Hillary Smith 68th, April Gagner 80th, Jenny Filipy 83rd, and Molly Bull 122nd.

'I am very pleased with how our women ran today,' WSU Head Coach James Li said. 'Everlyne Lagat continued to run very well with her fifth place finish. Anne Blue also was able to perform in a very important meet today.'

Stanford's women won the meet, with Arizona's Tara Chaplin claiming the individual title.

Franco-Parra stepped up to lead Washington State for the second week in a row. The senior from Beaverton, Ore., also placed 16th at the Pac-10 Championships two weeks ago. Ian Johnson who had led the Cougars throughout the season before the Pac-10's finished 32nd, one sport ahead of teammate Jon Welsh in 33rd. Other finishers for WSU include Mike Heidt 52nd, Scott Johnson 66th, Kyle Barker 68th, and Mark Wicklander 69th.

'Oscar ran extremely well, placing 16th, which will make him a very strong candidate for going to NCAA's,' Li said. 'Mike Heidt did a great job as a freshman running 10k for the first time in competition, coming in as our fourth runner. Overall, we would have hoped to run better, but did have some strong individual performances.'

Stanford claimed the men's team title led by the one-two finish of Donald Sage and Grant Robison.

The top two teams in each race have earned automatic berths to the NCAA Championships. At-large bids for both teams and individuals will be given out Monday, Nov. 12. With a total of nine regions in the country, 18 teams earn automatic bids to NCAA's, while the remainder of the 32-team field will be filled out with at-large bids. Four individuals from each region, who are not already on qualifying teams also earn at-large bids, as well as two more individuals nationally. The NCAA Championships take place Monday, Nov. 19 in Greenville, S.C.

NCAA West Regional Championships (Randolph North Golf Course, Tucson, Ariz., 10,000 meters)
Novmber 10, 2001
Men's Team Results (top five and Pac-10 teams): 1. Stanford 37, 2. Portland 91, 3. Oregon 112, 4. Arizona State 116, 5. UC Santa Barbara 124, 6. Arizona 135, 7. Washington 140, 8. Washington State 194,
Top Ten Individuals: 1. Donald Sage (Stanford) 30:43.40, 2. Grant Robison (Stanford) 30:50.10, 3. Jason Hartmann (Oregon) 3:57.60, 4. Fasil Bizuneh (Arizona State) 30:59.10, 5. Joe Driscoll (Portland) 31:01.40, 6. Jason Fayant (Washington) 31:11.80, 7. Josh Horton (UC Santa Barbara) 31:12.90, 8. Kris Rolin (Portland) 31:22.00, 9. Ian Dobson (Stanford) 31:26.60, 10. Louis Luchini (Stanford) 31:27.20.
WSU Results: 16. Oscar Franco-Parra 31:39.60, 32. Ian Johnson 32:13.30, 33. Jon Welsh 32:13.30, 52. Mike Heidt 32:56.90, 66. Scott Johnson 33:37.10, 68. Kyle Barker 33:40.00, 69. Mark Wicklander 3:43.00.

NCAA West Regional Championships (Randolph North Golf Course, Tucson, Ariz., 6,000 meters)
November 10, 2001
Women's Team Results (top five and Pac-10 teams): 1. Stanford 39, 2. Arizona 80, 3. Arizona State 83, 4. Washington 115, 5. UCLA 159, 6. Washington State 214, 12. Oregon 349.
Top Ten Individuals: 1. Tara Chaplin (Arizona) 20:40.10, 2. Lauren Fleshman (Stanford) 20:52.00, 3. Lisa Aguilera (Arizona State) 20:54.50, 4. Alicia Craig (Stanford) 21:04.40, 5. Everlyne Lagat (Washington State) 21:06.60, 6. Kelly MacDonald (Arizona State) 21:08.00, 7. Sara Bei (Stanford) 21:20.8, 8. Cheryl Smith (Hawaii) 21:36.90, 9. Brianna Tores (Arizona State) 21:41.10, 10. Katie Appenrodt (UC Santa Barbara) 21:49.70.
WSU Results: 5. Everlyne Lagat 21:06.60, 22. Anna Blue 22:06.00, 52. Ryan Gilmore 23:16.30, 68. Hillary Smith 23:44.20, 80. April Gagner 24:06.40, 83. Jenny Filipy 24:09.30, 122. Molly Bull 25:01.10.


Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder