Randy Johnson Wins Third Straight Cy Young Award

Nov. 13, 2001

NEW YORK -- Randy Johnson won his third straight National League Cy Young Award, easily beating Arizona Diamondbacks teammate Curt Schilling. Johnson pitched at USC from 1983-85.

The Big Unit received 30 of 32 first-place votes and two seconds for 156 points from a panel of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

It was the fourth Cy Young Award for Johnson, who won the AL honor while pitching for Seattle in 1995. The only other pitchers with four or more Cy Youngs are Roger Clemens, a favorite to win his sixth on Thursday when the AL voting is announced, and Steve Carlton, who won four each.

Schilling, the co-MVP of the World Series along with Johnson, got two firsts, 29 seconds and one third for 98 points.

Matt Morris of the St. Louis Cardinals was third with31 points, followed by Jon Lieber of the Chicago Cubs with two and Houston rookie Roy Oswalt with one.

The only two voters who didn't pick Johnson first were Toni Ginnetti of the Chicago Sun-Times and Joe Christensen of The Press-Enterprise in Riverside, Calif.

This was just the third time teammates finished first and second in the voting, following Don Newcombe and Sal Maglie of the 1956 Brooklyn Dodgers and Mike Marshall and Andy Messersmith of the 1974 Los Angeles Dodgers.

Johnson was 21-6 and led the major leagues with a 2.49 ERA and 372 strikeouts, the third-most in a season behind Nolan Ryan's 383 in 1973 and Sandy Koufax's 382 in 1965.

Johnson, who led the majors in strikeouts for the eighth time, struck out 10 or more 23 times for the third straight season, again matching the record Nolan Ryan set with the California Angels in 1973.

Votes were cast before the start of the postseason, when Johnson became the first pitcher to win three games in a World Series since Detroit's Mickey Lolich in 1968.

Schilling was 22-6 with a 2.98 ERA and 293 strikeouts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder