Three Women's Soccer Players Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

Nov. 13, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Junior defender Mandy Melendez earned second team All-Pacific-10 Conference Women's Soccer honors on Tuesday evening, while teammates Katie Henderson and Morgan Crabtree earned honorable mention All-Pac-10 accolades.

Melendez, in her second season at OSU after transferring from Hawaii Pacific, started 18 games in 2001 for the Beavers. A top-notch defender, Melendez, helped lead Oregon State to a 2-1 victory over No. 3 ranked UCLA. As a team, the Beavers allowed 12 fewer goals (25) this season than a year ago and tallied 33 goals compared to scoring just 21 in 2000. Melendez, from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, recorded the first assist of her career in OSU's 2-0 victory against Loyola Marymount University.

Henderson, a junior midfielder, led the Beavers in scoring with 20 points on seven goals and six assists. The Littleton, CO, native started all 20 games, took 44 shots on the year and scored the game-winning goals against University of Dayton and Loyola Marymount. Henderson ranks in the OSU top 10 in three different career statistical categories: goals scored (16 - 8th), assists (10 - tie 8th) and scoring (42 pts - tie 8th).

Crabtree earns her second consecutive honorable mention All-Pac-10 honor. The junior midfielder started all 20 games for the Beavers, tallying a pair of assists on the season and scoring a goal against Loyola Marymount. Crabtree took 49 shots on the year, including 15 on goal.

The Beavers ended the 2001 campaign with their best record since the 1995 season. OSU finished with a 10-8-2 mark overall and a 2-6-1 record in Pac-10 play. Oregon State just missed an invitation to the 64-team NCAA Women's Soccer Championship.

Washington junior goalkeeper Hope Solo was selected as the Pac-10 Player of the Year, while Southern California forward Megan Kakadelas was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors went to Stanford's Andy Nelson.

Name Pos. Yr. School

Krista Boling*, D, Sr., UCLA
Amy LePeilbet, D, So., ASU
Mary-Frances Monroe, F/MF, Sr., UCLA
Stephanie Rigamat, F, Sr., UCLA
Amy Sauer*, D, Sr., STAN
Laura Schott**, F, Jr., CAL
Hope Solo**, GK, Jr., WASH
Sarah-Gayle Swanson, MF, So., UCLA
Stacey Tullock***, MF, Sr., ASU
Marcie Ward*, F, So., STAN
Marcia Wallis, F, Jr., STAN

Name Pos. Yr. School

Megan Abbamonto, MF, So., USC
Nandi Pryce, D, Fr., UCLA
Chalise Baysa, F/MF, Sr., ORE
Whitney Jones, MF, So., UCLA
Lindsey Jorgensen*^, GK, Sr., WSU
Megan Kakadelas, F, Fr., USC
Mandy Melendez, D, Jr., OSU
Mallory Moser^, GK, Fr., CAL
Caroline Putz**, F/MF, Sr., WASH
Ally Marquand, D, So., STAN
Callie Withers, MF, Jr., STAN
Kim Yokers, MF, So., CAL

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree ***four-time All-Pac-10 honoree^ voting for the All-Pac-10 second team goalkeeper resulted in a two-way tie

Bethany Bogart (UCLA, Sr., D), Breana Boling (UCLA, Sr., MF), Morgan Crabtree (OSU, Jr., MF), Patrice Feulner (ASU, So., F), Katie Henderson (OSU, Jr., MF), Brittany Kirk (CAL, Jr., MF), Stephanie Peel (ASU, Fr., F), Sarah Peters (ORE, Jr., GK), Kaitlyn Pruett (USC, Fr., D), Natalie Spilger (STAN, So., D), Candice Wilks (ARIZ, Fr., F)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder