Eleven UCLA Men's Soccer Players Earn All-Conference Acclaim

Nov. 15, 2001

Walnut Creek, Calif. - A league-high 11 UCLA men's soccer players were selected to the Pac-10 All-Conference team, including first-team selections Ryan Futagaki (Fountain Valley, Calif./Fountain Valley HS), Adolfo Gregorio (Hilmar, Calif./Hilmar HS) and Tim Pierce (Dana Point, Calif./Santa Margarita HS).

Futagaki, a junior midfielder and team co-captain, has come back from an injury-plagued 2000 season to score two goals and two assists this year. In conference play, he ranked second on the team in scoring with five points.

Gregorio, a sophomore midfielder, has recorded two goals and three assists in 2001, including one goal and two assists in Pac-10 play. Last year, he earned honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors.

Pierce, a junior forward, is the team's leading scorer with seven goals and 16 points. He scored a team-high three goals in conference play and was twice voted the Pac-10 Player of the Week.

Three Bruin sophomores earned second-team all-conference nods - defender Nelson Akwari (Houston, Texas/Strake Jesuit HS), defender Alex Yi (Easton, Md./Bradenton Academy) and goalkeeper Zach Wells (Costa Mesa, Calif./Newport Harbor HS). Yi was a second-team selection a year ago, while Akwari earned honorable mention acclaim. This is Wells' first selection.

Five other Bruins earned honorable mention acclaim - sophomore midfielder Dru Hoshimiya (South Pasadena, Calif./South Pasadena HS), senior midfielder Brandon Kay (Simi Valley, Calif./Royal HS), sophomore forward Cliff McKinley (Fountain Valley, Calif./Fountain Valley HS), sophomore forward Matt Taylor (Irvine, Calif./Irvine HS) and junior defender Scot Thompson (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA/Trabuco Hills HS). Thompson is a repeat honoree, while the other four are first-time selections.

Stanford junior forward Roger Levesque was selected the Pac-10 Player of the Year, while Washington midfielder C.J. Klaas was voted the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. Stanford head coach Bret Simon earned Coach of the Year honors in his first season.

2001 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Todd Dunivant, Stanford - Junior Defender
Ryan Futagaki, UCLA - Junior Midfielder
Adolfo Gregorio, UCLA - Soph. Midfielder
Roger Levesque, Stanford - Junior Forward
Lee Morrison, Stanford - Senior Defender
Tim Pierce, UCLA - Junior Forward
Bryn Ritchie, Washington - Senior Defender
Chris Roner, California - Senior Midfielder
Josh Saunders, California - Junior Goalkeeper
Derek Shanahan, Stanford - Senior Midfielder
Ben Somoza, Washington - Senior Midfielder

2001 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
Nelson Akwari, UCLA - Soph. Defender
Abe Geiger, Stanford - Sophomore Midfielder
Zach Kingsley, Washington - Senior Midfielder
C.J. Klaas, Washington - Freshman Midfielder
Johanes Maliza, Stanford - Junior Midfielder
Aaron McHardy, Oregon State - Junior Forward
Michael Munoz, California - Freshman Midfielder
Austin Ripmaster, California - Senior Forward
Billy Sleeth, Washington - Senior Defender
Alex Yi, UCLA - Sophomore Defender
Zach Wells, UCLA - Soph. Goalkeeper

2001 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-ConferenceAaron Biddle (Stan, Sr., D), Peter Billmeyer (OSU, So., GK), Patrick Fisher (Cal, Jr., MF), Greg Foise (Wash., Sr., F), Taylor Graham (Stan, Jr., D), Dru Hoshimiya (UCLA, So., MF), Brandon Kay (UCLA, Sr., Mf), Leo Krupnik (Cal, Sr., D), Cliff McKinley (UCLA, So., F), Kurt Ness (OSU, So., D), Chad Olsen (Wash., Jr., GK), Troy Roberts (Cal, Fr., D), Jake Sagare (Wash., Sr., MF), Matt Taylor (UCLA, So., F), Andrew Terris (Stan., Jr., GK), Scot Thompson (UCLA, Jr., D), Brett Wiesner (Wash., Fr., F).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder