Three Beavers Earn All-Conference Men's Soccer Recognition

Oregon State had three players earn recognition when the Pacific-10 announced its all-conference men's soccer teams on Friday morning. Aaron McHardy, Peter Billmeyer, and Kurt Ness were all honored.

Aaron McHardy, tied for the conference lead in goals with nine heading into the final weekend of play, was tabbed as a second-team All-Pac-10 selection. The honor was the first such distinction for the junior midfielder, who also ranks second in total points scored in the Pac-10 with 20.

McHardy, a native of Vancouver, B.C., was also a Second-Team Academic All-Pac-10 selection last season.

Earning honorable mention this year were goalkeeper Peter Billmeyer and defender Kurt Ness.

For Billmeyer, a sophomore, it is the second honorable mention he has received in as many years. The Omaha, Neb., native leads the Pac-10 in saves and saves per game while playing every minute in goal this year.

The honorable mention was the first conference award Ness has received. The sophomore, part of a very stingy back line, has started 12 of the 13 games he has played as a back.

Stanford's Roger Levesque earned the Pac-10 Player of the Year honor, while Washington's C.J. Klaas was named Freshman of the Year. Bret Simon of No. 3 Stanford was selected as the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

PAC-10 FIRST TEAMTodd Dunivant, D, StanfordRyan Futugaki, M, UCLAAdolpho Gregorio, M, UCLARoger Levesque, F, StanfordLee Morrison, D, StanfordTim Pierce, F, UCLABryn Ritchie, D, WashingtonChris Roner, M, CaliforniaJosh Saunders, G, CalilforniaDerek Shanihan, M, StanfordBen Somoza, M, Washington

PAC-10 SECOND TEAMNelson Akwari, D, UCLAAbe Geiger, M, StanfordZach Kingsley, M, WashingtonC.J. Klaas, M, WashingtonJohanes Maliza, M, StanfordAaron McHardy, F, Oregon StateMichael Munoz, M, CaliforniaAustin Ripmaster, F, CaliforniaBilly Sleeth, D, WashingtonAlex Yi, D, UCLAZach Wells, G, UCLA

HONORABLE MENTIONAaron Biddle, D, Stan, Peter Billmeyer, G, Oregon State, Patrick Fisher, M, California, Greg Foise, F, Washington, Taylor Graham, D, Stanford, Dry Hoshimiya, M, UCLA, Brandon Kay, M, UCLA, Leo Krupnik, D, California, Cliff McKinley, F, UCLA, Kurt Ness, D, Oregon State, Chad Olsen, G, Washington, Troy Roberts, D, California, Jake Sagare, M, Washington, Matt Taylor, F, UCLA, Andrew Terris, G, Stanford, Scot Thompson, D, UCLA, Brett Wiesner, F, Washington.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder