UCLA's Monroe Named Soccer Buzz Player of the Year Finalist

Nov. 19, 2001

Los Angeles - UCLA women's soccer player Mary-Frances Monroe was recently named a finalist for player of the year honors by online soccer source, Soccer Buzz. Monroe is already a candidate for the Hermann Trophy and the M.A.C. Award, both player of the year awards.

Monroe, a senior forward from Tariffville, Conn., currently ranks second on the team in scoring with 26 points (11g, 4a). She also leads the Pac-10 in game-winning goals with six.

The final winner will be announced in December after a vote open to all 278 Division 1 women's soccer coaches and the Soccer Buzz staff.

Of the twelve finalists, six are repeaters from the 2000 finalist list, including 3-time finalists Christie Welsh (Jr, F) of Penn State and Abby Wambach (Sr, F) of Florida. The four other repeaters from last year are Jena Kluegel (Sr, M), North Carolina, Christine Latham (Jr. F), Nebraska, Lauren Orlandos (Jr, D), Portland, and Laura Schott (Jr, F), California.

Receiving their first nomination as finalists are Danielle Borgman (Sr, D), North Carolina, Aleisha Cramer (So, M), BYU, Lori Lindsey (Sr, M), Virginia, Monroe (Sr, F), UCLA, Danielle Slaton (Sr, D), Santa Clara, and Aly Wagner (Jr, M), Santa Clara.

Notre Dame's Anne Makinen was named the 2000 Soccer Buzz Player of the Year. Other past winners include Mandy Clemens, Santa Clara (1999), Danielle Fotopoulos, Florida (1998), Robin Confer, North Carolina (1997), and Debbie Keller, North Carolina (1996).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder