Benn Named to District VIII All-Academic Team

Nov. 20, 2001

Seattle - Washington senior center Kyle Benn is a first-team selection to the 2001 Verizon Academic All-District VIII Football squad. A Seattle native, Benn has a 3.24 GPA as a business major at Washington. He has started the last 32 consecutive games for the Huskies.

Benn is one of 11 Pac-10 players to earn first-team honors. He was a member of the 2000 Pac-10 All-Academic Team. He will now be included on the national ballot for Academic All-America consideration. That team will be announced Dec. 10

The Academic All-America team is voted on by the College Sports Information Directors of America. The District VIII region includes the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington.

2001 Verizon Academic All-District VIII Football Team

QB Joey Harrington, Oregon
WR Collin Henderson, Washington State
WR Kyler Randall, Eastern Washington
WR Seth Trimmer, Oregon State
TE Erick Streelman, Nevada
RB Brian Bingham, Northern Arizona
RB Mike Williams, Arizona State
OL Kyle Benn, Washington
OL Eric Damko, Northern Arizona
OL Nathan Frowsing, St. Mary's
OL Chris Polinder, Eastern Washington
OL Ryan Schmid, Oregon
K Mike Barth, Arizona State

DB Juan Bautista, Fresno State
DB Vernon Fox, Fresno State
DB Hyrum Peters, Hawaii
DB Dennis Weathersby, Oregon State
LB Brooks Bahr, Utah
LB Scott Fujita, California
LB Brad Rice, Idaho
DL Billy Beltz, Cal Poly
DL Ryan Denney, BYU
DL Kyle Rosselle, Oregon State
DL Eli Wnek, Arizona
P Brian Simnjanovski, San Diego State

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network